The Road to Warrior Dash: Day One

Posted: January 2, 2011 in Fitness

Greetings friends and family.  I welcome you to a brand new blog I’m starting to track my fitness progress for the next twenty-seven days.  On the twenty-eighth day, I’ll be part of the Warrior Dash in Lake Wales, FL. It’s just over three miles long and will take place at the Triple Canopy Ranch.  Here are the obstacles I face:

  • I’m currently weighing in around 344 pounds.
  • I have bad knees and a herniated disc.
  • Warrior Dash has 12 obstacles scattered throughout the run.

Beside me in this run will be my close friends Matt and James.  The three of us spent four long summers on a pavement slab standing at attention and marching for 12 hours per day while the heat rose from the pavement and taunted us…but Warrior Dash won’t have the heat making the run difficult.  It will be cold and part of the run will be through water.

This is the workout I did today.

Tomorrow, I’ll discuss the obstacles with you so you can get a better idea of what I’ll be putting my body through.  I’ve got 27 days to get my weight lower and strengthen my legs and back for this event.  I started at 8:45 this morning with the routine pictured on the right.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    I’m SO proud of you. And it’s a great idea to start a blog,
    too. You can do this!!!

  2. alicia says:

    awesome Pat! I am so glad you’re doing this. Just take it
    slow and don’t work yourself too hard. I need to get myself in
    shape for it too… “it’s the holidays” derailed my progress, but
    i’m ready to get in gear!

  3. James Jessup says:

    We’re with you all the way!

  4. Heather says:

    I think this is fantastic…and you can do this! I am
    happily supporting you! xoxo

  5. You got this! I’m excited to check in with you and see how you progress during the training process. Stay positive and Good luck!!! =)

Leave a Comment

