The Road to Warrior Dash: Day Two

Posted: January 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Obstacles

These are the obstacles I’ll be facing during the Warrior Dash.  Going around them means no completion medal so I’ve got to bravely make it past each one.  Some are scarier than others.

  1. Alligator Alley: Sludge your way through murky waters
  2. Rio Run: Dash down river (knee-deep)
  3. Knee High Hell: Speed step through hundreds of tires
  4. Slithering Swamp: Venture into unknown murky waters (waist-deep)
  5. Palmetto Prison: Scale your way through thick palmettos
  6. Hay Fever: Hustle up and over giant straw hay bales
  7. Cargo Climb: Maneuver over the cargo nets
  8. Dead-weight Drifter: Trudge through the waist-deep water and over the logs
  9. Treacherous Typhoon: Fight your way through the water and gale force winds
  10. Hell’s Hill: Sprint to the summit
  11. Warrior Roast: Leap over the Warrior fires
  12. Muddy Mayhem: Scramble beneath barbed wire and through the mud

The only ones that I’m concerned with are Hay Fever and Cargo climb.  Why?  Because it’s not an easy feat to get 300+ pounds up in the air.  So that’s the reason for the strength training over the next few weeks so I can accomplish all of these obstacles.

Today’s Workout

Today I got out to do some light cardio.  My legs and back are not great lately but I’m determined to get them solid for the Warrior Dash.  I walked today and you can see my path and stats by clicking on this image below.

TOMORROW:  The Warrior Beard

One of the awards given is for the Best Warrior Beard.  Tune in tomorrow to see my current progress and what I’m going to shoot for.  I intend to win this contest hands down!

Comments
  1. James Jessup says:

    Pat: There is only one obstacle that must be overcome, and you’re working on it!

  2. Melissa says:

    Good grief. That whole mess is SCARY. I have a feeling you guys all doing it together are going to have fun though!

  3. Heather says:

    Those which make you go in water would scare the poop out of me.

    You can totally do this Pat…you have such awesome determination. That is truly a gift.

  4. saraant says:

    Hi Pat, great blog! Warrior Dash is SO much fun!! Reading the description of the obstacles made me remember the “waist-deep” swamp I encountered at the 2010 Northeast Dash; I remember clearly the website saying there was NO SWIMMING and if you couldn’t swim, you could still compete… BS! That water was over my head!! Thankfully, I can swim! Hopefully you can too 🙂 Have fun!!!

Leave a Comment

