The Road to Warrior Dash: Day Three

Posted: January 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Warrior Beard

As I mentioned yesterday, the Warrior Dash is not only about the run and the obstacles. There will be awards given for best warrior costume and best warrior beard. Originally I wanted to wear a tux shirt and tail coat with the sleeves torn off along with a kilt. Then I realized we’re running in January and my boys need to stay warm so that idea is out! Instead, I’m going with comfy jogging attire that I don’t mind mudding up.

Instead of shooting for best warrior costume, I’m going for the beard. One night in the 1990s, I found myself at Hard Rock Cafe in Orlando (the old one shaped like a guitar). At that time, I thought our server had the coolest beard. He had these diagonal lines cut into it from his ear to his goatee area. Two lines on each side of his face looking like some kind of crazy hair-gills.

I tried to duplicate this look later in the 90s with an A Cappella group I was in at the time. I won’t mention the name of the group cause it brings back good memories immediately followed by horrid memories of soprano envy and breaking up. We can just call the group DK.

Back to the beard. It did not go well.

not my best effort

Later attempts and better electric razors yielded better results. I put the icing on the cake when I took a q-tip and cream bleach and put three bleach blond tiger stripes in the goatee. I got looks…not good looks either. It was a phase I went through of trying to outcool the Hard Rock Cafe server with my face. That beard wasn’t good for anything…until now.

I’m only three days in on the beard growth too. Currently, it looks like this:

Who ordered scruffy with a side of razor burn?

Today’s Workout

I went back to the garage this morning for more of the same from Monday.

Today was a lot better. I had better success with the uppercuts(at 5lbs per arm…wuss) and I was able to do my crunches with a 25lb plate on my chest for added resistance. I won’t have a six pack but who needs abs like that when you’ve got the whole keg, right?

There was one exercise I added today that’s not shown. Captain’s chair raises. I couldn’t do them the first day so I took them off the list. Today, I was determined to try again and managed to do one set of six reps. That’s it but it’s better than Monday. By the time I’m race ready, I’ll be doing three sets of ten.

That’s it for today! Tune in tomorrow!

TOMORROW: Biking, Climbing, Pushups and hyper-ventilation

Comments
  1. Jodi Brock says:

    That beard is something else. wow.

  2. Alicia says:

    Im sad that I won’t be able to compete in the beard competiton! I did start doing push ups yesterday and made it to the gym today….maybe I CAN be ready for this race!
    Thanks for the update- you motivate me! Keep it up!

  3. Melissa says:

    A whole keg? THAT made me laugh out loud.

  4. Heather says:

    SNORT!

    The beard..oh the beard. I will send prayers for rapid hair growth. Or something. 😉

Leave a Comment

