The Road to Warrior Dash: Day Five

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Fitness

Running with Purpose: Jamie Gaillard

When I attended church at Calvary Assembly, I had the pleasure of
knowing Jamie Gaillard for a short time. I got to spend one fun day
at Universal with her and her boyfriend, Johnny. I didn’t really
KNOW her until two days ago when I listened to the testimonies
about her life that were given by her family and friends. Jamie
died on 1/3/11. She was 26 years old. I don’t know all the details
about her sickness. I know that Leukemia has much to do with it. I
had a chance to see her in the hospital a few days before
Christmas. I have never known someone who was so happy despite her
pain. Jamie only wanted to be within God’s plan for her life and it
didn’t matter whether she lived or died. Either way she was going
to praise him and remain happy with where God would lead her. I
want that in my life. I understand that Jamie’s family has been
left with a heavy burden in medical expenses and I want to do my
part to raise support for them through my run at Warrior Dash. Can
any among you pledge a dollar amount per mile? There are only three
so I ask you to be as generous as you can. Over the coming days,
I’ll be adding links and information on how you can give your
support. I had every intention of doing this run for myself but I’d
really like to do it for Jamie and her family.

Today’s
Workout

I did the weightlifting routine again. This time
I increased my dumbbell weight on the Uppercuts and Incline Curls.
The squat/thrust exercise didn’t make me sore today and my legs are
already feeling stronger under my weight. It’s a nice feeling.
Tomorrow I’ll be doing my walking at Universal Studios and will try
to track it on Runkeeper without killing my battery. I’m also going
rock climbing with my friends tomorrow night. I’m really looking
forward to it.

Tomorrow: Blogging on the
Go!

Comments
  1. paulette and dave says:

    Count on us! Let us know how and we will. 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    Thank you for doing this for Jamie’s family. When I visited her in hospice, I got to talk a lot with her mom and family and I saw where she got so much of her personality and faith.

    I wish we had planned that second day at Universal with Jamie and Johnny. I’m sad that we never did that again.

    You’re going to be GREAT and I hope you’re able to raise a ton of money for them. You’re already doing an awesome job training for this. I can’t wait to see how you feel once you’ve accomplished it!

Leave a Comment

