The Road to Warrior Dash: Day Eleven

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

Colder than a witch’s…

If you don’t know the saying, go google it. What an amazing morning. I woke up to a temperature of 38 degrees. Yes, I know it’s not as cold as the northern states and that I should quit my bitchin’ but it’s cold for Florida so lay off me. 38 degrees seemed like a good reason to avoid working out in the garage and just take the day off. Then I remembered I made a promise to work out every day for twenty-seven days. But it is so cold. But I am nowhere near being ready for Warrior Dash. But…38 degrees…I can’t do it. So, I talked myself out of it.

Why, then, do I find myself typing this blog with my thumbs on the floor of the garage (which, I’ll have you know, is colder than the actual temperature outside) with stomach cramps from my final set of crunches?? Because guilt came calling. Because every time I came up with a strong enough reason to quit today, guilt called again. Because I’m a lot like this guy.

ok I'll go, I'll go, I'll go, I'll go, I'll go.

How 1980s Movies Affected my Morning

When Cameron doesn’t want to go out but Ferris keeps calling, Cameron says:

He’ll keep calling me, he’ll keep calling me until I come over. He’ll make me feel guilty. This is uh… This is ridiculous, ok I’ll go, I’ll go, I’ll go, I’ll go, I’ll go. What – I’LL GO! SHIT!!!

When Cameron has to face the choices he made, he says:

I am not going to sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it. Right or wrong, I’m going to defend it.

So, I did the workout. I put on sweatpants and a sweatshirt over my normal shorts and t-shirt and I went downstairs. I moved the car out on the driveway and I shut the garage door. Usually I keep it open to hear the sounds outside and get fresh air but it was just too cold. I increased my dumbbell weights on many of the exercises today. I feel pretty awesome. I’m sure it was really warm at Planet Fitness today but I worked out in the cold. Now that I’ve done the workout, I feel a lot like this guy.

Draaaaaaaaagoooooooooooo!!!!!

Why not Planet Fitness instead?

If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know I talked about this a little bit last night. I’m unemployed right now. The checking account that Planet Fitness draws from each month is coming up short so I went in last night to give them a new debit card number for an account that has quite a bit more money. This was the conversation:

Me: Instead of cancelling my membership, can I give you a new debit card number?
Planet Fitness: We don’t accept debit cards anymore.
Me: So if I didn’t come in tonight, how would you have continued to take my membership fees?
Planet Fitness: We would keep charging your old debit card.
Me: Get me the cancellation form.

I have no time in my life for rules put in place by corporate morons. I was trying to avoid cancelling the gym by paying another way. If they can’t accept that by bending their idiotic rules, then they can’t have what little money I have left. I’ll workout at home by using the equipment available and walking.

Weight Loss Update

I don’t know how much. The truth is that when I step on the scale, it says OL. I’m guessing that stands for Overload. It can’t tell me my weight as long as I’m above 300 pounds. I know I’ve lost weight. I know because in order to keep my shorts and sweats around my waist today, I had to tighten the drawstrings. My shirts are looser and so are my shoes (and my glasses!). My arms feel stronger and so do my legs. When I went walking yesterday, I had to keep pulling my shorts up. This is a good sign. I can’t see my weight as a number but I can certainly feel it and it feels good.

See you tomorrow.

Comments
  1. James Jessup says:

    Glad we can help be your Ferris!

  2. Melissa says:

    This one made me laugh. And now I feel guilty for eating dessert at lunch today. Eh. 🙂 I’m proud of you!

  3. Bill says:

    Remember it is not Guilt calling you out…that is your will power growing stronger everyday. Never feel sorry for yourself, stand up be proud of who you are and look at what you have accomplished and what you will accomplish. Just having to tighten the strings on your shorts is proof you are more man than most people in this country (not a large size joke). Life is what you make of it. I’m running that warrior dash, if I find you i’m not leaving your side…you’ll finish it on your own two feet, even if we have to help carry you to the line. Good luck my friend.

  4. saraant says:

    That was a very inspiring post! Way to go Pat!! (I thought it might help to know people are reading; it always helps with my motivation to know others are watching!)

    • Pasquale says:

      Thanks! It is helping. You’re the first person to find my blog outside my main circle of friends. Very cool that you’ve done Warrior Dash yourself. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Comment

