The Road to Warrior Dash: Day Twenty

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

One Weak Week

I have exactly seven days left to train. On day eight, I’m in the Warrior Dash. I am SO not ready for this. I haven’t slacked. My eating has been good over these past 20 days. My shoes fit better. Some shirts and pants fit better. I managed to get into the downstairs bathroom and close the door. It swings inward and it’s so small that an obese person usually can’t close it because their body exceeds the space needed. Well, I closed it. My flexibility is increased. So…all these good signs and why the concern?

Hard Body

My body has taken a lot of beating due to my weight. My knees are not strong. I have had arthroscopic on the left one once and my left femur was broken as a kid. In 1997 I got in a car accident that caused a bulging disc. Later on, in 2001, I’d see that disc herniate due to standing and heavy lifting on the job. The herniation was so bad that I couldn’t walk for a year while it healed. I’ve been reading the blog of a person who has already run the Warrior Dash in their area. I saw the pictures of some of the obstacles on her facebook (cause we’re friends now). Seeing what they actually look like has me slightly concerned. In addition to the pictures, I’ve been writing back and forth with her about making a major change to my eating habits and after finding out that I had the disc and knee problems, she said lots of people walk the Warrior Dash but that she was worried about my knees and back. Now I’m a little more concerned than I already was. All I can do is try to complete the dash while trying not to hurt myself. Master Yoda would say “Do or do not. There is no try.”

I’m doing it. I’m just doing it carefully.

Todays Workout

Had a lot of errands to run and some things to work on at home today. I woke up and did 120 crunches and 50 squats. That put me at about 39% of what my daily workout should be. I also parked my car at the far end of the parking lot for the stores I went to and added extra walking to my routine. I’ll be doing some more home exercises later this evening.

That’s all for now. See you tomorrow…I’m really going to try and blog each day now before the race.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    I think you’re putting too much emphasis on the “warrior” aspect and less on the “dash” part.

    Even if you complete the entire thing without doing a single one of the obstacles, it is still a FEAT that you will have accomplished, something you never would have done years ago.

    It’s still commendable and it’s still inspiring. And I’m still very proud of you. Keep going.

  2. saraant says:

    Yeah, what she said!! ^^^
    My intent was NOT to worry you more, but to make you feel more at ease with the whole thing! Believe it or not, the obstacles break up the race and make it easier! (Well, you know how I felt about the swimming, but apparently that was my own fault for not ‘keeping to the right’ as warned!)

    It’s not as bad as you’re thinking it is – I promise!! Don’t psych yourself out!!

Leave a Comment

