The Road BEYOND Warrior Dash: Week One

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

The First Step

Before I make it to that Disney Half-Marathon, I’ve decided to do a few events this year to work my way up to it. The first event will be Muddy Buddy in Orlando on April 9, 2011. Click the following banner to read all about it.

Matt and James are already planning to be buddies on this one so I have asked my friend, Bill, if he would be up for it. Bill has agreed and we are starting our training together on this upcoming Saturday morning. I can’t wait. This is going to be longer than Warrior Dash by more than double the length but Bill and I will alternate jogging and biking throughout the course. At the end, we have to traverse a mud pit and finish together. There are also obstacles again throughout the course.

I started some training on my own. I purchased a bike helmet for safety. I had a hitch installed on my car and I added a bicycle mount to the hitch. Now I can take my bike wherever I go. I took it to Cape Canaveral on Monday and rode 10 miles around the port that day. Tuesday, I didn’t exercise since I had to head back to Orlando and take care of personal stuff.

Here’s my workout plan for the whole week:

Monday: 10 miles cycling at Port Canaveral
Tuesday: No exercise
Wednesday: 15 miles cycling from Oviedo to Baldwin Park and back
Thursday: 15 more miles cycling from Oviedo to Baldwin Park and back (with my friend Leslie)
Friday: Working out at home for 30 minutes using My Fitness Coach on the Wii
Saturday: Training with Bill for Muddy Buddy
Sunday: Not sure yet. There’s usually a plan to cycle to Baldwin Park and back to Oviedo again.

Next Week

I need to start incorporating some jogging into my routine again. I have two full months to get ready for a 7-mile stretch and the jogging will help to make sure I don’t lag behind too far. I’ll be using the “Get Running” app for iPhone to get me training with the Couch 2 5k method.

Wish me luck! See you next week.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Yay!

    I think you’re going about this whole thing exactly the right way. I know you’ll be able to do it and you’re going to end up doing more than you thought you would or could.

    Princess Girl is going to have so much to be proud of her daddy for. 🙂

Leave a Comment

