The Road BEYOND Warrior Dash: Gains & Losses

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve seen a lot of change since my last entry.  Primal Blueprint and calorie counting have really made a big difference in my life.  The two days per week that I spend doing weight training have given me a noticeable muscle gain in my arms and legs.  I put it to the test yesterday and, again, this morning.

Yesterday, I put my bike on the back of the car and drove it down to Cady Way Park.  I got on the bike and did a 10-minute warm-up.  After that, I proceeded to make six attempts at sprinting up the hill that crosses State Road 436 in Winter Park.  I had previously done this hill sprint exercise on 2/24/11.  My average pace that day was 7:10 per mile.  Yesterday, my pace was 6:31 per mile.  The squats and planks are paying off every time I pump the pedals on my bike.  I took 39 seconds off each mile and that was going uphill.

I woke up this morning thinking ‘I’ve got to test this new strength on flat ground’.  So I put the bike back on the car and drove to the San Sebastian Trailhead in Altamonte Springs.  This trail has some long hill climbs but none of them are at the same incline as the hill I did yesterday.  They’re just loooooooong.  So I rode the bike from Altamonte Springs to Lake Mary and back.  It’s 7.5 miles each way and I paused for 30 minutes in between for a smoothie.  Do you know what?  My average pace was 5:30 per mile.  HOLY SCHNIKES!!! When we would go riding on Sunday mornings, I never went faster than 6:40 per mile and today’s ride was the same exact distance as our rides to Baldwin Park.

I’m excited.  I can’t be sure but I appear to have lost my muddy buddy.  No big deal.  I’m working toward a few other local events for April and May.

Oh…I forgot to mention one more thing.  I have experienced a loss amidst all these gains.  My EatSmart scale finally arrived.  300+ five star reviews on Amazon.com can’t steer me in the wrong direction.  It’s the best $35 I ever spent.  This scale can handle weighing people up to 400 pounds.  So I stepped on when it arrived on 3/9/11  and have found out that I’ve lost 56 pounds since October 2010.  In addition to that, I weighed in again yesterday to see that I’ve lost an additional 3 pounds.  I’m holding strong at 330 pounds now with that 300 goal only five to eight weeks away.

Stay tuned friends.  I’m going to be under 300 pounds soon.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Wow! That’s awesome!

    I know you’re working really hard to get to a goal weight, and that’s completely understandable and commendable, but I think making your bigger focus the increase in speeds and distance and strength will be much more rewarding for you in the long run.

    You’re doing so great! I’m so very proud of you! Keep it up!

Leave a Comment

