The Road BEYOND Warrior Dash: It’s Not My Fault You Hate Your Boyfriend

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well…it’s not…I’m serious. I didn’t even say that to anyone. It’s just a part of the lyrics from one of the songs on my workout playlist on my iPhone 4. This week I’m going through my playlist from top to bottom in alphabetical order. Don’t read a lot into my song selection. I like to listen to a wide variety of music when I walk, jog, lift weights and go cycling. This playlist will show it.

Gimme’ a Beat!

Okay Miss Jackson just hold on a sec while I explain. In 2008, NY Times published an article called “Choosing the Best Music for Exercise”. It’s a great article worth a read. It talks about good tempo ranges for strolling, power walking and running.

One of the most important elements, Karageorghis found, is a song’s tempo, which should be between 120 and 140 beats per minute, or BPM.

I’m still over 300 pounds so you’ll find some of my current playlist dips below that range. In addition to finding songs with good tempos, I also choose the songs that motivate me and give me a boost when I’m out there exercising. Sometimes I’ll find myself slowing down and the next track comes in with a great intro and increased tempo and the next thing I know, I’m getting my second wind and my walking or biking speed is greater.


Just Push Play

Here’s the list as it appears on my iPod.

25 or 6 To 4 by Chicago
That’s Chicago Transit Authority for you real old-schoolers. A good bass guitar/drum intro immediately joined by brass and sax adds a quickness to my step. Add to that the screaming high vocals of Peter Cetera and you’re set.

Alphabet St. by Prince
This one kicks off with a great beat like most of Prince’s upbeat songs do. It never slows up. While the song is full of innuendos, it’s one that I’ve always liked due to the overall feel.

Axiomatic by Nano
Quick plug here. There are several songs by Nano on my iPhone. I had originally downloaded the CD because I was curious to hear what a friend/acquaintance had recorded. Navid Nowaktahtar/Nano recorded these tracks over at Rayne’s Room and I can honestly say there isn’t a song on this entire CD that I don’t like. Almost all of the tracks are set at a perfect walking/jogging tempo. You can get this CD on iTunes by clicking here. I believe it’s the best $6.93 you’ll ever spend on independent music.

Battle Without Honor or Humanity by Tomoyasu Hotei
Even though I’ve seen Kill Bill, the first time I really took notice of this song is when it was played on the drive to Warrior Dash. My friend, James, had a warrior/battle playlist for the ride over to Lake Wales. There are a few others from his list that I’ve added to mine.

Brand New Jones by Robin Thicke
All of my Robin Thicke selections are from his first CD, A Beautiful World. I’ve chosen a lot of the upbeat songs from this album. His other CDs are great too but they tend to be a little more smooth and sexy and that’s just not how I feel when I’m drenched in sweat and my muscles are aching.

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang by Nano
Not to be confused with the musical of the same name. This song combines Nano’s calming rap vocals with the screaming high tenor voice of, Earl Elkins.

Creepy/Sexy by Nano

Don’t Stop the Music covered by Jamie Cullum
I’m a big fan of interesting cover songs that are done well by artists that I like to listen to. This song, originally done by Rihanna, is represented in a jazzy/funky groove by Jamie Cullum. I’m real thankful for my brother-in-law, Geoff, for introducing me to Jamie Cullum. Outside of my workout playlist, I have a Jazz playlist and Pandora station that are focused around his songs.

Easy Lover by Phil Collins
I’ve loved Phil Collins since I was a kid. His upbeat music really puts me in a good mood. I have several of his songs on my playlist for that very reason.

Eat the Rich by Aerosmith
Steven Tyler broke my heart when he left the band to join American Idol and I refuse to watch him anymore. Still…the primal drum beats and screams that lead into this song send me pedalling toward my hill sprints a little quicker.

Flex by Robin Thicke
This song has a frantic intro that reminds me of a level of Super Mario Bros. When Robin sings on this one it sounds like he’s out of breath the whole time and that helps push me a little harder.

Girls Just Want to Have Fun covered by Starfu#$%r
This band has a profane name but this is a fun cover of a Cindi Lauper song that I’ve always liked even though I’m not a girl…shut up Greenwald!

Gonna Fly Now by Bill Conti
One time I tried to run up the steps in Philadelphia like Rocky but I was uber-fat and didn’t make it past the first landing. This song just shouts “I did it” or “I can do it” or “I’m GOING to do it”. Maybe it’s a little cheesy but you can’t help but feel the same when you hear it.

Good Enough by Cindi Lauper
I told you I’ve always liked her music. This song will always have a place in my heart since I never got to be part of the Goonies. Every time the intro starts, I still imagine One-Eyed Willie’s Ship sailing away on the horizon where the sea meets the sky at sunrise.

Good Enough covered by New Found Glory
Another great cover. The speed of this version is about five times faster than the original by Cyndi Lauper

Home(feat. Marc Broussard) covered by Mosaic
I loved this song when I first heard Marc Broussard sing it. It’s been covered by Kelly Clarkson during live performances. I like the lyrics and this a cappella version features Marc on his own song backed up by the vocal styling of Mosaic. I’ve got a few more Mosaic covers on my playlist. They’ve got a nice website at http://www.notaboyband.com that’s worth checking out.

It’s Not My Fault by Nano

Jesus He Knows Me by Phil Collins

Land of Confusion covered by Disturbed
Disturbed does an incredible cover of this Phil Collins song. My friend, Matt, just gave me a few of their CDs to listen to and I am confident more Disturbed selections will be added to my playlist soon.

Land of Confusion by Phil Collins

Lazy Bones by Robin Thicke

L.M.C. Balla by Nano

No Sleep Till Brooklyn by Beastie Boys
Ahh, the Beastie Boys. Nothing takes me back to my middle school days like these guys. I love every song off the License to Ill album. Back in cassette days, this was the first recording with explicit lyrics I convinced my mother to buy for me. These guys grabbed a bit of a sample from T.N.T. by AC/DC and used it throughout the song to create a memorable guitar line.

Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da by The Beatles
Nothing says it’s time to shed some fat like four Brits singing about a cross-dressing market vendor who finds love and a family. Life goes on.

Rhymin’ and Stealin’ by Beastie Boys
You will see a pattern forming here.

Sabotage by Beastie Boys
This song just makes you want to run. The video makes you want to run. All they do in the video is run! See for yourself.

Saturday Night by Bay City Rollers
How did this get in here??

Shining Star covered by Mosaic

So What’cha Want by Beastie Boys
More pattern forming…

Something Happened on the Way to Heaven by Phil Collins

Staying Alive covered by 4:2:Five
I always liked this song but I like it more when sung by close friends and family. Earl Elkins soars on the lead line made famous by Barry Gibb’s squawky falsetto. I’ve asked them if they would sing their versions of “Another One Bites the Dust” followed by “Staying Alive” at my funeral. 4:2:Five also has several albums on iTunes worth checking out by clicking here. Their website is http://www.42five.com

Sure Shot by Beastie Boys
almost there…

Sussudio by Phil Collins

Thank You covered by Mosaic
A real good a cappella cover of this song that was done by Sly and the Family Stone.

The New Style by Beastie Boys
Have you figured it out yet? Very few know this about me. I can honestly admit that I am a giant fan of the Beastie Boys and have been since I was around 11 years old. I like their lyrics and their delivery. I think they stand out as a hard working group of artists that make global contributions to various charities. They once played a charity concert in Manhattan to raise money for the ASPCA and Rational Animal. Tickets sold for up to $875, with all profits going to the charities. That speaks a lot about their character that goes far beyond the profane lyrics that are on the surface.

When I Get You Alone by Robin Thicke
What do you get when you combine Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony with Disco? A Fifth of Beethoven. What do you get when you combine A Fifth of Beethoven with funk and Robin Thicke? When I Get You Alone. I love, love, LOVE this song sung over the top of one of the greatest classical pieces of all time. It’s groovy and funky and classy. It makes you want to move.

Wow…that really took a long time to write. I quit. Drop me a comment and let me know the music that you like to work out to. I’m about ready to start adding some new material to my playlist. See you next week when I talk about off-road biking and broken ribs.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I’m a big fan of music…that makes me happy. Have you tried Mumford and Sons…good stuff. Abba is always great. I have a whole playlist dedicated to teaching CPR, so this stuff is right up my alley. 😉

  2. I listen to Benny Goodman and other greats of the Swing era when I train for the Warrior Dash (coming to Michigan in July). No, I’m not quite old enough to remember these guys from their heydays, I just like to listen when I’m on our treadmill. It’s got a good beat but few (if any) distracting lyrics.

  3. […] https://road2warriordash.wordpress.com/.  His blog post on his Ipod selection can be found here, https://road2warriordash.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/the-road-beyond-warrior-dash-its-not-my-fault-you-h….  It’s quite the collection of music and I would love to generate a comprehensive list of […]

Leave a Comment

