The Road BEYOND Warrior Dash: Setbacks and Disappointments

Posted: April 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m only going to blog for a few minutes today. Tomorrow is Muddy Buddy. I had started to train for this and then I lost my buddy. Then, while I was still exercising with hopes of finding a new buddy, I decided to go off-road biking out at snowhill. Then I broke or cracked one or more ribs.

Muddy Buddy has been out of the question now. Completely off the table. I’m about twelve days in to my healing process and am finally able to relax a little. Every movement has been painful. Standing up, sitting down, breathing…don’t even get me started on coughing, laughing and sneezing. Those were the worst. Oh, and hiccups! Guess who decided to try some hot sauce five days past injury and wound up with hiccups that hurt like hell? Me.

I freaked out last week. A few days after the injury, I got on the scale and my weight had shot up to 330 again. Two days before I hurt myself I weighed in at 322. I don’t know if it was swelling or maybe I was retaining water. I really don’t know. What I do know is that even with the injury, I was still counting every calorie and staying within my daily maximum. I haven’t been able to exercise for two weeks. I think I’ll be ready to start walking in a few more days with the possibility of biking again close behind. That’s what I miss the most. I really want to take my bike out again.

So, there’s the update. Kind of a bummer. A little bit of a setback. I’m still ready to get back on my feet and try for something else. Once I find an event I can handle, I’ll be sure to let you all in on the story.

In the meantime, I’ll be quietly rooting for my friends. Matt, James, Lisa and Lori: All the best tomorrow. I wish I was there with you guys.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Comment

