This shirt I wear

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Fitness, Motivational, Shopping

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…

Alright, alright. Five years ago in a Hot Topic store in North Carolina…

I bought a shirt. A shirt which bears the symbol of the Mandalorian Marines. The symbol that I bear on my left arm as a tattoo. The symbol that Boba Fett has on his upper bicep just below the left shoulder. The symbol only true Star Wars geeks, like me, can appreciate.

The Mandalorians are a fierce band of warriors whose only purpose in life is to fight for glory and honor. They occasionally have one-on-one fights to the death and are led by a single man, who leads from the front lines.

I bought the shirt in a size 2x. At the time I was wearing 3x sized shirts and I vowed to get down to a weight where the shirt would fit. That shirt sat in the back of the closet for five years. I’d find it every time I moved out of a house and couldn’t bear to throw it out. Each time I’d vow again to one day get down to a weight where it would fit.

Today was that day. I thoroughly enjoyed wearing the shirt today because we went to Disney for Star Wars Weekends.

At one point my daughter took a picture with Anakin from The Clone Wars. I tend to think these costumed actors dress the part but don’t do the research but this guy did. He looked at my daughter, pointed at me and asked “who is that guy?” she answered “that’s my dad”. Anakin said “I think he’s a bounty hunter”. She answered “no, he’s just my dad”.

I felt proud two times in the same moment. So what if I bought the shirt five years ago and wore it for the first time today?! Better late than never.

20110603-074503.jpg

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    We had a great time today. The shirt looked awesome! I’m proud of you for being able to wear it and our girl is proud of you just for being her dad. 🙂

  2. Hannah says:

    I think that is awesome! I have a few outfits I would like to wear. So I can totally relate to you I can’t wait until I can wear my Jack Sparrow hoodie again and my Cheshire Cat t-shirt. 🙂 I’ve got this Edward Scissorhand’s t shirt too that makes me smile every time I see it in a size XL Junior’s here is to achieving those goals. Enjoy your day in Disney I am going there in July how are they for Primal meal choices?

  3. James Jessup says:

    Boba Fett himself couldn’t have worn that symbol with more pride!

    • Pasquale says:

      Let’s wait and see what happens. I haven’t fallen into the Great Pit of Carkoon yet so I’ve still got that going for me.

  4. Marrisa says:

    This entire blog entry makes me smile. You are so blessed, that little girl adores her Daddy so much! How exciting to be able to wear something after so long. I’m excited for you!

    • Pasquale says:

      Thanks, Marrisa! It means a lot coming from you. Especially since you and your man get me and my geek-ness. I felt happy all day wearing that shirt.

Leave a Comment

