From that day on, if I was ever going somewhere, I was running!

Posted: June 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

An Update on the jogging

Last night I finished Week 5 Day 2 of the Couch 2 5k program. I had a 5 minute walking warm-up, 8 minutes of jogging, 5 minutes of walking, 8 minutes of jogging and a 5 minute walking cool-down. I joked earlier this week on Facebook and Twitter saying that if someone had told me I’d be jogging this much a year ago, I’d have to slap the stupid off of them. I still feel that way. While I’m down from 388 pounds, I’m still feeling like a 308 pound ogre that shouldn’t be able to accomplish this stuff. It’s just one more piece of living proof for the ones out there sitting on their couches. If I can do this, you can do it too. You can probably do it better…for now.

The real test

So five weeks of jogging interval training are nearly behind me. The real test of endurance will be tomorrow night. At 7:00 p.m. EST you can find me starting out a 5 minute walking warm-up. After that, I’ll be jogging 20 minutes straight. Yes, I said it. Non-stop. No walking interval stuck in the middle. 20 consecutive minutes of bouncing from foot to foot in a forward motion around a body of water with two VERY UNDERSTANDING friends beside me. If you can’t guess who, then you’re not reading this blog enough. Matt and James will once again take my side only this time it’s almost six months after Warrior Dash and I’m not running the track in waterlogged shoes and pants. I think I’ve got this. I believe I’ll be victorious tomorrow night. I may be slower than most but I have no plans to stop jogging until 20 minutes is up. I will slow my pace as needed but I will not stop.

Tune in to Facebook and Twitter tomorrow night for an update.

The Road to the Do Life Tour

Ahh…my first 5k. Just the sound of it intimidates me. I’ve still got eighteen days left until the Do Life Tour comes to Orlando. Starting on 6/11/2011, I’ll be blogging a minimum of three days per week. Saturday, Monday and Wednesday. Those are the days that I train Couch 2 5k so you’ll get a closer glimpse of my inner thoughts/feelings leading up to the Do Life Tour on 6/25.

No one wants a free blender

I was hoping things would kick off a little stronger with my June giveaway for the Hamilton Beach personal blender. I haven’t had much response. To be honest, I haven’t had any. I’ll stand by my word and still offer it to the person that provides the most referrals. You win the blender and a smoothie recipe book from Primal Toad. The runner-up will receive the smoothie recipe book by itself. It’s still a great prize. Start trying to win today!

Leave a Comment

