Five Months BEYOND Warrior Dash

Posted: June 9, 2011 in Fitness, Friends, Motivational

I had a heck of a time getting through Warrior Dash five months ago. I was more than fifty pounds heavier on January 29, 2011. I’m still no skinny mini but I’m weighing in at 308 and doing things that I couldn’t do when I was a kid.

Last night, James and Matt joined me for the last day of my Week 5 in the Couch 2 5k running program. I needed to warm up with a 5-minute walk. After that I had to run for 20 minutes non-stop. Five months ago I jogged about 140 yards and failed at running any further. Last night I jogged almost 2 miles.

We went to Crane’s Roost in Altamonte Springs. Nice place but very crowded after 5:00 p.m. This is the view from the area where we started.
20110609-083719.jpg

This was the view from the other side of the lake at sundown.
20110609-083740.jpg

It was a great night for a jog. Not too hot and a nice breeze. I’m just really happy that I managed to make it through. The last seconds of my walking warm-up brought feelings of nervousness going into the jog. Once I got to 10 minutes of jogging I knew I’d be fine for the rest. I feel good. I feel strong. I feel proud…that may be part of my Italian habits. I’m going to kick so much butt next January at the next Warrior Dash!

L to R: James, Bill, Me, Matt at Warrior Dash. 1/29/11
20110609-084329.jpg

L to R: Matt, James and me last night after the 20-minute jog at Crane’s Roost. 6/8/11. Wow! I’m looking thinner!
20110609-084342.jpg

Comments
  1. jogging! wow!! I’d die. LOL…keep it up!

  2. Melissa says:

    Holy crap. You really can see a vast difference in these two shots! Great job!

Leave a Comment

