The Road to The Do Life Tour 5K: Day 3

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Fitness, Friends, Motivational, Primal Cooking

The Early Bird Gets The…

…sweat and fatigue before breakfast. This was an incredible morning. I rode my bike from home to James’ house. I parked the bike in his garage along with my backpack. He and I set out on foot from there and went into my Couch 2 5k training for today. It looked like this:

5-minute walking warmup
25-minute jog
5-minute walking cooldown

I’m still not fast but I’m more concerned with distance right now. Here’s an overview of the jog today. If you click on it, you can see all of my RunKeeper stats going all the way back to last year:

No more walking intervals between the jogging for me. Next week will see me jog 25-minutes non-stop on each of my three training days. I can’t wait. If you look at the picture above, you can see how my half-way point was shy of getting all the way down to Tuscawilla Road. I’m hoping that by the end of next week, I’ll be able to get that far before turning around.

After the Jog…

We had a quick hydration session before getting on the bikes. It rained last night and this morning was extra humid. I usually have a sweat ring on my shirt that goes from my shoulders to my chest. The humidity caused the ring to go all the way down to the bottom of the shirt. Gross.

James and I hopped on the bikes and took in 10 miles in an hour. If I didn’t explain this on Saturday, the transition from jogging to cycling gives me jelly legs for the first five minutes or so that I’m on the bike. Today was similar but not as bad as Saturday. We rode against the wind from Oviedo down to Cady Way Park and back. It was nice having the wind at our backs during the return trip. It made it a little more enjoyable. Here’s an overhead showing phase 2 of my morning exercise:

I’ve never been one to try to look cool. These $5 shades just keep the wind and insects out of my eyes when I’m on the bike.
20110615-120933.jpg

Discussion and Letdowns

James and I talked about all kinds of things on the bike ride. He gave me a detailed recollection of what it’s like to go through a half-ironman. We talked about me starting to train and increase my swimming skills. We talked about the Disney Half Marathon for 2012 and how it’s almost sold out already. I don’t have the $160 bucks to register for it at this current time so…sadly…I probably won’t be doing it in January like I’d hoped. I really wanted to be ready for this one and I probably WILL be ready by January 7th 2012. I’ll be ready physically, not financially. Oh well…

Rewards

Well, it’s not a guilty reward but I had an incredibly filling breakfast after my exercise this morning. I had a three-egg fritatta filled with Maverick Ranch ham and hot Italian sausage from Cavallari Gourmet in Oviedo. I also had a glass of the green tea that I brew and sweeten slightly with maple syrup each week.

Just a quick recipe for you.

You need:
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Butter
Three eggs
Meat or Veggie fillings

Instructions:
Preheat your broiler.
Scramble the eggs in a bowl with a pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper.
Heat an oven-safe pan over medium high heat.
Add organic olive oil and 1 Tbsp of butter to the pan to melt together.
Add meat, veggies or any other primal fillings to the pan and saute a few minutes until done to your liking.
Pour the eggs into the pan and give a good shake to evenly distribute the fillings.
Cook on the stovetop until it starts to set on the bottom. Turn off the stovetop.
While the top of the fritatta is still a little wet, open your oven door and slide the pan under the broiler.
Leave the oven door open so you can keep an eye on it to avoid burning.
WATCH THAT YOU DON’T BURN YOURSELF, YOUR KIDS, YOUR PETS OR ANYTHING ELSE WHILE THE DOOR IS OPEN!!!
The fritatta will puff up and cook on the top.
Remove the pan with a hot pad or thick hand towel and place on the stove top.
Slide a rubber spatula around the edge and under the fritatta to release it from the pan and fold it in half with the spatula.
Slide on to a plate and eat.

It looks like this coming out of the oven.
20110615-121016.jpg

It looks like this folded and plated.
20110615-121219.jpg

It’s quick, easy and guilt-free. Mine came in at 582 calories (it’s the whole sausage link at 210) but you can easily change the fillings and get the calories much lower. I burned a lot this morning and can afford a breakfast this size.

I hope you enjoy the recipe. Leave comments here to let me know how you made yours. Talk to you soon!

Comments
  1. James Jessup says:

    Jelly-legs! It’s what’s for breakfast!

  2. Melissa says:

    Clearly, you know I didn’t make this for breakfast. But I’m proud of you.

    And I’m hoping you keep your mouth closed on these rides too, cuz bugs in the mouth would suck. Just sayin’.

  3. Warrior Dash says:

    Wow three eggs….. Good that you enjoy your breakast….

    • Pasquale says:

      You could use less. I typically eat two eggs each morning. Today I just needed a little more.

      My stomach was still growling after breakfast but I waited for lunch and stayed within my calorie range.

Leave a Comment

