The Do Life Tour 5k: DONE!

Posted: June 25, 2011 in Fitness, Friends, Motivational, Weekly Weigh-In

I DID Life

Today I was able to meet my next goal! If you’ll take a look at the banner up there, you’ll notice a new check mark over The Do Life Tour 5k. I jogged/walked my first 5k and managed to finish in under one hour. 59 minutes and 46 seconds to be exact but it was my best run to date. If you’ll go back five months with me to Warrior Dash, you’ll remember I was pleased to have finished it but a little put off at the fact that it took me 1 hour and 40 minutes to get through that 5k with obstacles. I was dead last for the entire event.

Today was better! I hope I can adequately recall each moment of the day so you can share in my excitement.

Quick Note About Today’s Blog

It’s highly interactive. Names like “Ben”, “Pa” and “Jed” will link to their individual blogs when you click. I encourage you to find motivation in each of their stories and follow them to see how they progress. There are lots of pictures today. Each picture can be clicked to enlarge so you can get a better view of the day I just experienced.

Fitness, Inspirational, Motivational Santa came to town!

That’s how it was. It felt like Christmas morning to me! Matt and I arrived at Winter Garden Station to wait for the start of the 5k. James and Lori arrived shortly after and we walked over to meet Ben, Pa and Jed. In addition to meeting the guys from the Do Life Movement, we also immersed ourselves in a group of local people that are equally motivated by Ben and his story. (photo break: click to enlarge each)

20110625-014249.jpg

Winter Garden Station Trail head

20110625-014319.jpg

The Do Life Tour travel vehicle

20110625-014340.jpg

Do Life Tour meeting area

Meeting Ben Davis for the first time

Meeting Ben was an incredible moment for me. Here’s a guy that was a little less than my size when he started and look at him now! Look at me now! I’m happier to be healthier! He came over and introduced himself. I said “Hi, I’m Pat”. He questioned, “Pat”? So I told him he knows me as Pasquale on the web. So we chat for a sec and he moves away to the car. He comes back over to me and hands me an envelope. I didn’t see him hand these out to anyone else. This was an emotional moment for me and you’re about to see why…

20110625-014353.jpg

This is the envelope that Ben handed me.

20110625-014406.jpg

Inside the envelope

In case you can’t read it, it says:

Pasquale,
I just want to say it’s incredible to see how far you’ve come. As someone who has gone through a similar journey, I know how hard it can be.

Congratulations on making it here, and keep rocking it as hard or harder than you have thus far. You and I both know that it’s worth it to keep at it.

Good luck on your trek to the marathon and let me know when you get that medal around your neck.

Do Life,

Benjamin Davis

P.S. This is the picture from our first.

The picture is signed by Ben, Jed and Pa and if you’ve followed my blog about my story room when I’m older, then you know that this will be a definite part of the story to be found framed behind glass somewhere on the wall. Okay, here’s a long photo break:

20110625-014438.jpg

James and Lori

20110625-014514.jpg

My posse (L to R): Matt, James and me

20110625-014458.jpg

Matt...always trying to look cool.

20110625-014544.jpg

James takes a moment to chat with Ben.

20110625-014557.jpg

Ben and his motivators with me and mine (L to R): Pa, Ben, Me, James, Jed and Matt.

20110625-014624.jpg

We took a picture of the entire group before the run.

20110625-014646.jpg

Ben explaining how the run will go and thanking everyone.

On our way. I managed around 1.25 miles of straight jogging before a break to walk.

20110625-014713.jpg

Standing at the half way point for a picture.

Matt got ahead of us to take this picture. One of my favorites!

20110625-014727.jpg

Ben coming back with the rest of the group waving the Do Life t-shirt like a flag.

20110625-014737.jpg

Another picture of me and Ben after the event. Red-faced and sweaty.

20110625-014747.jpg

Everyone went to 4 Rivers for lunch and fellowship.

20110625-014805.jpg

This one won't be framed. I'm planning to wear it. I bought it in 1XL size so I've got something to work toward!

So, there you have it folks! It really was a great day. I feel really good about all of it and I know the next one will be even better! Oh yeah, it’s possible I’ll be doing another 5k on July 4th. We shall See.

One Last Thing

I know you’ve seen a lot of pictures but I wanted to show you the first picture I took when I woke up this morning!

20110625-104941.jpg
Boo-Yah!!!!

Comments
  1. April White says:

    SO proud of you, Brother!! And look at that scale, sweet mother of crap, you are thisclose to your next goal!!!!!

  2. Melanie says:

    That is amazing! Congrats on your first 5K!

  3. Said it before and I’ll say it again! Proud of you!!!! You’re doing AWESOME!!!!

  4. Sebastian says:

    Great job Pat, you are showing awesome dedication to your goal.

  5. Melissa says:

    You’re really doing so great!!! I am SO proud of you! That one shot of you jogging, from the side, you can really tell how much weight you’ve lost. You look LITTLE in that picture!

    The Princess and I are very, very proud of you! And a little jealous about Four Rivers. But whatever. 😉

  6. Kimi says:

    That is SO fantastic! I’m glad I could share the day with you. Ben’s gift to you is so special, I’m tearing up! That scale is looking great, you are so close to your next goal! Keep up the great work!

    • Pasquale says:

      Thanks, Kimi! Sharing the day with so many non-judgmental people made it so easy for me to jog without worry of failure. But I didn’t fail. I did it!

  7. Warrior Dash says:

    I’m so touch with what ben gave you…. What a great motivation and inspiration. Keep up guys you’ll sure to conquer anything.

Leave a Comment

