The Road to the Watermelon 5k Run/Walk

Posted: June 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

So…here it is, the morning after my first 5k. Last night I hung out with some LHHS alumni from the class of 1993 and had a chance to share the story of my first 5k with them. One of my alumni friends suggested the 20th Annual Watermelon 5k Run sponsored by Track Shack. I woke up this morning with the suggestion ringing in my ears and, as of 9:05 a.m. today, I’m registered for the event. It’s local and it was only $28 plus a donation toward our troops. I was more than happy to provide both!

So there you have it friends!!! I’m sure you can feel my excitement, insanity and heart. I added a new mile marker to the banner up there again. It’s the Watermelon colored U.S. Flag that is the logo of the Watermelon 5k.

It’s going to be at Mead Gardens in Winter Park, FL at 7:30 a.m. on 7/4/11. If you can make it out to jog with me or cheer me at the finish line, you know I’m always blessed by friends and will appreciate it greatly!

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Sebastian says:

    You will soon run out of room on your banner.

  2. Hannah says:

    You just keep going! I think that is so awesome and it really is for a good cause. I always wanted to run for Team Gluten Free since I have Celiac Disease. I have never thought of myself as a runner but deep inside I have this inner fire and you are helping me tap into it and I just wanted to say thank you from the bottom of my heart. Keep it up I can’t wait to hear how you are doing. I may be miles from you but know that I am with you and remember you are inspiring many! 🙂 I begin my Paleo journey on July 1st so wish me luck and if you have any advice if you aren’t too busy will you email me? Thank you!

  3. Marrisa says:

    Oh! I might have to do that! Don’t know if I’m ready for a 5k but I can come cheer for you!

Leave a Comment

