Florida Rain and No Grain

Posted: June 28, 2011 in Fitness, Frustrations, Motivational

I’d hoped to bike a quick 14 miles tonight but the awesome summer weather had other plans. I hitched the bike to my car and tried to bike in Altamonte then the storm started. I drove back to Oviedo and the storm followed me there too. No biking tonight. I’m going early tomorrow.

I accomplished two things today. I stayed 100% primal and I stayed off the scale. My weight keeps fluctuating down to 301 and back up to 305…I can’t seem to get under 300. I put the scale away for a while. I’ve realized I lost my focus. I was doing great when I concentrated on primal eating and staying within my calorie range.

Lately as I’m close to getting under 300, I’ve been checking the scale daily for that goal. I’m going to stop. It will only frustrate me more and I don’t want that disappointment back in my life.

I’ll check on Fridays only. Wish me luck. I’m attempting a month with no grains at all. Primal Blueprint allows for an 80/20 ratio on occasion. I’m planning to go 100% no grains until August. So when my friends come to visit in July I’ll have no Italian dinners out!

Comments
  1. Marrisa says:

    Good luck!!!!!! I totally know you can do it.

  2. Kimi says:

    I know what you mean about getting obsessed with the scale! I think once a week is a great compromise.

  3. Eric says:

    What do you mean that you “Stayed 100% primal”?

    • Pasquale says:

      Hi Eric! I follow The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson. Here’s the best way I can describe it. If I were living in Paleo times, the food I eat would have to be killed, grown or found. So it’s a lot of fruit, protein and vegetables. Since I don’t live in Paleo times, I shop very carefully reading lots of labels. I don’t eat processed foods so I almost stay completely out of the grocery aisles and shop around the edges of the store. The biggest thing is that I don’t eat any grains. I can have them when I really feel the need but since starting this whole thing last January, I haven’t needed it very often. I was having some days in June where I could not keep my days 100% primal. I started to shoot for 100% every day on 6/27 and my goal is to stay that way through the end of July. I’ve read blogs of those that have accomplished this and they’ve all experienced dramatic weight loss and health/energy boosts.

      I’ve been on every diet you can think of. Primal Blueprint is not a diet. It’s a lifestyle change that involves sticking to certain types of food and staying away from others. I calorie count too but that’s my own decision and is not part of the plan. If you want to know more about The Primal Blueprint, go check out http://www.marksdailyapple.com

Leave a Comment

