The Road to the 2012 Walt Disney World 1/2-Marathon: So Many to Thank

Posted: July 11, 2011 in Athletic Events, Family, Friends, Motivational, Support Needed

I’m Blessed!

In late June, I asked friends and family if anyone would be willing to donate to help me cover the registration fees for the Walt Disney World 1/2-Marathon in 2012. It was already 50% full and I didn’t want to miss my chance. A PayPal account was set up on June 25th and I received full support from friends, family and fans in just 16 days!

Registration

I waited two days on the edge of my seat for the funds to transfer from PayPal to my private bank account so I could register for the event. I woke up this morning to find the funds moved over this morning and immediately went to the ESPN/WDW website to register. I experienced a huge mix of emotions…everything but sadness and anger. I was really happy as I filled out my registration. The thought of crossing that finish line made me very excited! Then the fear came. I’ve finished two 5k runs. That’s just over three miles and the 1/2-marathon will be over 13. I know I can handle three and now I’ve got to be able to prepare for 10 more. The fear of failure will definitely help motivate me through the training.

One More 5k

I’m signed up for Track Shack’s 20th Annual Celebration of Running 5k on 8/13/2011. After that, my focus will be completely on the Disney 1/2-Marathon. My first day of marathon training is July 30, 2011. That training will continue for six months at a minimum of three days per week. I think I’d like to do four to six days of training per week.

Thanks For Your Support

Thanks to all of those who made this possible. I understand that many are in the same financial boat as I am and unable to contribute toward my goals. I’m still thankful that you believe in my mission and support me by sharing my story.

To those that made this possible by financial contribution: Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Divorce, job loss and continued unemployment have made this a difficult season in my life but it’s the season in my life that I’ve changed most for the better. I’ve never had another time in my life with so much difficulty that yielded positive results. This is that time for me and I’m very grateful for all of it.

Stay Tuned

I am going to document as much of my training, feelings, goals and frustrations over the next six months. Stay with me for the story.

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I love you Pat. xoxo

  2. Keri (KP) Patterson-Nestle says:

    So excited for you that you have met the goal of registering for the 1/2 Marathon. I know for certain that you will achieve your goal of a successful finish in the event ! I have been keeping up my 4x wk boot camp training but had sort of fallen off on my Couch to 5K program and it showed in the Watermelon Run. You have moved me to re-committ to that program and follow along as you train for the 1/2. Always remember, Pat — you CAN and you WILL ! 🙂 Your friend, KP

  3. James Jessup says:

    Pat,
    We’ll STOMP on that finish line!

Leave a Comment

