Staying Primal and Staying In It!

Posted: July 15, 2011 in Primal Cooking, Shopping

I’ve been getting a lot of emails from people asking how I’ve lost the weight and what I’m eating. I know I’m WAY past due for sharing the details of my household ingredients. First, I have to recommend the two Primal Blueprint cookbooks. I also recommend the standard Primal Blueprint book to help you to understand the structure of this way of life. It’s not a diet, it’s a way of changing your daily pattern of eating and moving and after a 90 pound loss, you better believe it works. It’s not a miracle. You don’t put your faith in the Primal Blueprint, you put your faith in you.

Here are some of the frozen, refrigerator and pantry staples I keep around.

Freezer

Chicken
Pork
Beef
Seafood
Blackberries
Blueberries
Strawberries
70% Dark Chocolate (or higher %)

Refrigerator

Kale
Heavy cream
Mushrooms
Peppers
Cauliflower
Bananas(kept cold for smoothies)
Maple Syrup (grade B)
Butter (WHOLE butter only)
Eggs
Coleman Bacon
Coleman Hot Dogs
Maverick Ranch Ham(no nitrates)

Pantry

Raw almonds
Walnuts
Raw wildflower honey
Coconut milk(move to frig once open)
Coconut oil
Olive oil
Onions (I like Vidalia)
Garlic(real garlic. Not that bottled stuff)
Green Tea
Loose leaf teas
Dry spices

I try to keep as much on hand as possible. I do most of my prep and cooking on weekends and then eat leftovers or prepped foods all week. The key is to find things you like and stick with them.

What Can You Make?

It’s all about following a recipe but modifying it to your specific tastes. I always shoot for quick and simple these days. I’m a huge fan of fewer ingredients in my meals.

Here’s a list of things I like to make:

Grilled chicken
Grilled steak
Grilled hot dogs(no buns)
Pan seared/oven baked fish
Stir fry
Faux fried rice
Egg drop soup
Kale and onions
Creamed kale
Kale chips
Ice cream
Fruit granitas
Grok Rocks(Dk. Choc covered prunes)
Omelettes(veggie or meat filled)
Fritattas
Eggs (over-medium) & bacon or ham
Zucchini Egg Bake(get PB cookbook)
Greek yogurt w/ honey & berries
Green Tea(8 oz every day)
London Broil
Filet Mignon(very affordable at home)
Blackberry marinade
Homemade mayonnaise
Homemade ranch dressing
Homemade wasabi ranch dressing
Wedge salad w/ steak & blue cheese

I can’t keep listing this stuff. I’m getting hungry. Find the things you can do quickly and easily that taste good to you. Eat them frequently and rotate menus as needed.

Water

You have got to hydrate. As far as drink go, I usually drink a cup of green tea each morning with breakfast. Before I eat breakfast, I put 1 liter of water in my body. I try to drink up to 2 more liters before the day ends.

Movement

I move so much more than I used to. I walk, jog, bike and paddle board (I’m actually getting one and will be doing it regularly now!!!).

When I was 388 pounds, I started by walking or biking 30 minutes per day. As the weight went away, I increased my time exercising. I didn’t focus on the time. I focused on the distance. I wanted to see how far I could go without the use of a gas vehicle. I’m still pushing myself to go farther. My top distance in a single day is 40 miles by bike within 3 hours. It took a lot out of me but I enjoyed every bit of it.

Accountability

I’ve said this before. In order to silence the negative voices in your head telling you that you can’t do it, you’ve got to surround yourself with family and friends that tell you that you can. Find people that believe in you and keep them close. Spend time with people who will bike with you, walk with you, run with you, eat with you and everything else possible. It has been the best way for me to reconnect with two of my oldest friends and have their unending support to push me when I need it.

Questions

If you have more questions, email me.

If you need an accountability partner when no one else will be, email me…I’ll do my best to be the motivator for you that many have been for me.

Email: theroad2wd@gmail.com

Chin Up

Pardon me while I speak profanely. There are enough people in this world who will shit on you, knock you down and kick you while you lie there licking your wounds. As soon as YOU start telling yourself they’re right, you’ve lost. Believe in yourself. Sure you may have f$&!ed up along the way but you can certainly turn your life around. F$&! ups aren’t permanent. They’re lessons to look back on. Mental pictures in an album full of disappointment.

Pick your chin up and use it! Look deep at your past and remember how you were ridiculed, turned down, disappointed and left out. Focus on doing what it takes to make DAMNED sure you never go back to that place.

If you want to do it, all you have to do is do it!
~Ben Davis

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Well done, Pat. Someday you’re going to be famous. I know it.

    So, each time you quote Ben Davis, I kind of want to choke because that’s my brother’s name and it makes me worry that you’d quote him! đŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

