A Breakthrough with Dad!

Posted: July 24, 2011 in Family

We’ll Get Together Then, Dad. You Know We’ll Have A Good Time Then…

That’s a song that always rings in my head when I think about how quickly life has gone by and how my father worked a lot while I was growing up. Then I got into my twenties. I had a job, had a wife, started a family, sang and entertained in my spare time and didn’t see much of my dad. My life was now like his when he was my age. In his retirement, he has more time now like my life when I was a kid. Parent/Child relationships can be a big struggle and I know I want to start having more quality time with my daughter now that I’m starting to become physically fit and more able.

When You Comin’ Home, Son?

This week provided me an opportunity to come and stay with my dad. I decided this was my chance to try and influence him. We grow up learning from our parents and it was time to turn the tables and teach him what I’ve learned since going primal. I have done all of the cooking since I’ve been here. We’ve been having breakfast, lunch, and dinner made from whole ingredients. I’ve been counting my calories and have installed the MyFitnessPal app on dad’s iPhone. I helped him figure out his daily caloric max and how to log his meals and exercise.

It’s Been One Week

It’s actually been less than that but you may start noticing all of my section headers have been comprised of song lyrics lately. I arrived at dad’s house on 7/19. It’s now 7/24 and at the end of five weeks I’ve seen my father go from 162 lbs. to 156 lbs. just from a primal switch. He was already walking and biking everywhere around his home and we’ve added paddleboarding to our list of outdoor activities now. I’m very proud of my father. He’s actually trying. I’ve got some things I still feel he needs convincing on but this is a step in the right direction.

Leave a comment today congratulating my father in this new step towards health at a late age. I want to see him stay around for awhile!

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Marrisa says:

    Awesome!!!! Whoo hoo!

  2. Hannah says:

    You can do this!!!

  3. Heather says:

    You go dad!!!

  4. licia. says:

    yay, mister pal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Comment

