My Friday

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

Restful Reflection

It’s August 12, 2011. On this day last year I was in the 388 pound range and struggling with many aspects of my life. I had a job and I was spending my money on overeating, video games, DVDs, entertainment and junk. On this current day, I’m 293 pounds and jobless. I collect a little from my unemployment benefit while I job search. I spend my money on quality food, fitness equipment, registration fees and things that will enhance my lifestyle. A few weeks ago I got a food dehydrator that I love to make healthy snacks with. I’m turning 36 years old in 14 days. Can you believe me when I say I feel better now than I did when I was 25 years old? Every time I climb the steps of my sister’s house to my bedroom, I think of how I never wanted to live in a two-story house or have an apartment on the second floor. I would always grip the handrail of the stairs and use my arms to yank my body weight up to the top. When I’d reach the top, I’d be out of breath for five minutes and sweating. That would just put me in a bad mood. I hated going places where there wasn’t an elevator or escalator. Now I can climb the steps in a few seconds with no hands. All the work is done by my newly strengthened legs. Planks, cycling, walking, paddle boarding and jogging have increased my leg strength to a point where climbing steps takes no effort and I never have to catch my breath or sit down at the top to rest. I’m very happy with that change in my life.

Speaking of My Dehydrator

This morning I took two pounds of ground beef and mixed it with the Backwoods Hickory Rub from The Spice & Tea Exchange of Winter Park. I loaded it into the jerky gun and piped it out onto four dehydrator trays. I’ll be doing a review of the finished product. Jeff and Brian helped direct me toward several of their spice blends that would work well with beef jerky so I’ll be making a few batches over the coming weeks and talking about them.

It’s going to be a restful Friday and I’m very thankful for that. I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Hannah says:

    You make me so proud! You are in my prayers and I really look forward to your updates. I will be 30 on August 23rd I can’t wait but I don’t feel 30. I feel tired and can’t wait to start my Primal eating in September. Do you feel better by ditching dairy? Keep up the fantastic work my friend!!! 🙂

Leave a Comment

