Weekly Weigh-In

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Fitness, Friends, Frustrations, Weekly Weigh-In

It’s Hard for me to Say I’m Sorry

It’s really not. I apologize for not blogging much. Matt had to send me a text the other day just to see if I was okay. Our conversation went like this:
20110812-102717.jpg

I guess it’s true I’m kind of talkative on Facebook. Over the last few months I’ve tweeted, blogged and given status updates pretty regularly. Lately I guess I’m just starting to taper off a little. I experienced more frustration last week when I saw my weight back up at 300.2. I was so angry. I don’t ever want to go back to the 300s again. I knew where the mistakes had been made and I knew what I had to do to get back on the ball. Last Saturday morning I went on a 16+ mile bike ride with friends. I was determined to start jogging more this week. Then…it happened…

Welcome BACK!

On Monday I was sick and that lasted until Tuesday. Tuesday I went to Cocoa Beach to see my father and we loaded up my paddle board and brought it back to Orlando on Wednesday morning. On Thursday morning I took the paddle board down to dinky dock in Winter Park and went out for a nice, quiet morning paddle around the lakes. It was very calming and I had no stress. I took the board back home, went to apply for some jobs and then an old friend came to visit. The only problem is that this friend is kind of unwanted. My back started acting up on me. I’ve got a herniated disc between L4 and L5. The two discs immediately above and below that disc are bulging. This all stems from a car accident I had in 1997. I never had surgery to correct it and so it comes and goes from time to time without warning. I’ve got a plan this time. I will go back to walking, cycling and paddle boarding combined with Primal Blueprint fitness. I need to give jogging a break for now and hope that my body will heal enough as the weight falls off that I can jog that Disney 1/2 Marathon in 2012 that I’m registered for. I’m going to attack the weight very aggressively over the next several months with the following goals:

  • Reduce my grain intake to 0%
  • Get back on a 5-6 day exercise routine
  • Incorporate intermittent fasting once per week on alternating days
  • Stay within my maximum caloric range each day
  • See if my friends and I can stick our middle fingers in the face of the Florida summer weather and get out for more group fitness on the weekends. I miss that very much.
  • Keep a positive attitude and get back out of the funk I’ve been in

If I can do those things, I feel like I’ll see results like I used to. Even though I went up to 300.2 last Friday, I did what I needed to in order to concentrate and get the weight back down. That’s why I am happy to report today’s…

Weekly Weigh-In

20110812-102424.jpg
There you have it! I know it only appears to be one pound since my last weigh-in report of 294 but I’ve actually lost seven pounds in the last week in order to get back to where I was and still lose a pound more than my most recent public weight announcement. I’m feeling positive this morning. I’ve got 5 pounds left to reach a 100 pound total loss and 14 pounds to my next goal of 280 pounds. Keep reading. Leave a comment and let me know how it’s going with your personal eating/fitness goals. What have been your frustrations?

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Barbara Hochreiter says:

    Congratulations on getting back on track and losing another pound – let’s just call last week’s weigh in a fluke. I’m sorry your back is bothering you. I keep hoping that it’ll get better as the weigh continues to drop. As always, I’m very proud of you.

  2. Alicia says:

    I have missed your posts! I’m glad to see you’ve got a good plan for keeping on track and trying to stay positive!
    I hope you take care of your back so that you can stay active!!

  3. Marrisa says:

    Congrats! Since you asked, here are some of my frustrations: I’d love to lose 7 pounds in a week. I just need to lose around 25 to 30. I don’t know if I could exercise 5 to 6 days per week so vigorously as you do. I am just now getting Bryan to go out and run with me so that is keeping me motivated. I am also frustrated because no matter what I eat I either gain or maintain. And I am absolutely SICK AND TIRED of the extra skin around my waist that I am afraid will not go away without surgery. I’m in a size 6 but I cant wear anything cute and form fitting/revealing because of my damn fat.

    On that note, I am so super proud of you and I keep telling myself that if you can do it, I can do it!

Leave a Comment

