Primal Bread FTW!!!!

Posted: September 27, 2011 in Primal Cooking

We came across a primal bread recipe online at She Cooks…He Cleans. I had my doubts but I’ve made this recipe twice.

20110927-145243.jpg

With the first attempt I made the bread for a sandwich for my four-year old. It puffed up nicely in the microwave like the recipe said it would. I sliced the loaf in two and filled it with a smear of almond butter and Nutella. Then I put sliced bananas in it and cut it in half. My daughter was very happy and ate most of it but it makes a pretty big, dense loaf and is a lot to eat.

20110927-145217.jpg

20110927-145232.jpg

Since one recipe yields two loaves, I sliced the other one and my sister put in sliced Applegate Farms turkey and some cheese. She buttered both sides and we grilled it in a cast iron skillet. We split that with my brother-in-law. At that moment the creative juices started flowing. We were talking of primal hamburger buns and French toast.

20110927-145307.jpg

Today I made another batch. I had some help…
20110927-145329.jpg

20110927-145338.jpg

This time I use my culinary filet skills to get three slices per loaf. I froze four of the slices. The other two were grilled in the cast iron skillet with a hamburger. I put some local blue cheese on it from The Winter Park Dairy and…well…I’m excited to have some form of bread again that keeps me from going outside the primal blueprint.

20110927-145350.jpg

I don’t think I’ll make this every day but it is a worthwhile recipe to have in case I get a craving for a sandwich.

Leave a comment with your ideas for what you’d make with primal bread.

Comments
  1. […] discovered the joy of primal/paleo bread, cupcakes and […]

  2. I love that your daughter got her peanut butter and banana sandwich! Thanks so much for the nice comments. It is nice to be able to whip up a sandwich when you just HAVE to have one.
    Nancy

    • Pasquale says:

      Sandwiches are just scratching the surface. I froze four slices and I’ve got every intention of making French Toast tomorrow morning!

  3. […] honey and have used it at home for sweetening my primal ice cream, teas and for using in the new primal bread recipe I’ve been making […]

Leave a Comment

