Fatass to Badass: 10/7/11

Posted: October 7, 2011 in Fatass to Badass

Here’s the final post of the week and I have to say that I had the most fun creating the banner above in Photoshop. Looking back at that old picture of me from 2009 and I can really see how much rounder my face was.

Fatass to Badass is going to be a midday post on Fridays that will give a summary of my week. And it goes a little something like this…

Sunday morning I got together with my friends. James, Sean, Jenn and I took the bikes on a 16-mile ride and enjoyed a break for smoothies halfway through. This was the real test for me to see how my bruised rib would handle some long exercise.

Monday and Tuesday were both spent with my incredible daughter. While she was in school on those days, I spent my moments in Starbucks creating banners and writing the new posts for the blog.

On Wednesday I took Jean-Luc and pedaled a trip down memory lane. I rode past old schools, offices, parks, neighborhoods and right past my old house that I grew up in. I covered 15.33 miles on this solo ride and got to enjoy the great sunshine and breeze that goes with the nice Fall weather we’re having in central Florida right now. You can see a map of this on my Runkeeper.

Thursday I took Jean-Luc again and started down the same route I did on Wednesday but I added 7 more miles for a total of  22.27 miles around East Orlando. That hurt. 22.27 is a little more than half of the ride I’m supposed to accomplish on Sunday.  40 miles on the West Orange trail.  I’m not sure this is something I can do but Matt & James will be there with me and I’m hoping for the best.  Here’s a map of this route on Runkeeper.

That brings me to today. I woke up, emptied out my system and got on my Eat Smart Scale so I could check my current weight and bring you the Weekly Weigh-In post for today. How do I feel about this weight?  I feel great!  I’m staying under the 100 pound loss and I’m still decreasing in weight.  The Primal Blueprint 30-Day Challenge has really helped me a lot with this.  I cut out all grains, I’m exercising 5-6 days per week, I get 15 minutes of direct sun per day and I sleep no less than 8 hours per night.  I feel amazing.

Now that I know I can bike long distances, I’m going to start testing how the rib holds up to some light jogging. I NEED to start getting ready for the Disney 1/2 Marathon in January. I really need to bust my fatass if I’m going to be a badass that has the ability cross that finish line on foot and not in the sag wagon.

I’ve got some great things coming next week. A restaurant review, more food finds and great links and, on 10/12, I’ll be bringing you the story from my 40-mile ride on 10/9. Things are good. I’m continuing to make progress, I’ve met someone and she’s great, I’m healing and able to get back to exercising and training. I’m very excited and I hope you are too.


Posts

In case you missed any of my posts, here’s the weekly list.

Monday: Weekend Review
Tuesday: From the Kitchen
Wednesday: The Road
Thursday: The Missing Link
Friday: Weekly Weigh-In


Photos

Here are some quick photos I took this week.

Is This Primal?!

Are You Ready?

Fall is Here!

Another Milestone


Thanks to everyone for a fantastic first week launch of the new blog structure. Please tell your friends that it’s not just the self-focused excitement and rants of a 36 year old man on a weight loss mission anymore. I’m sharing recipes, places that I go and relevant links to content that goes along with the way I lose weight. There’s really only one day of ranting now and I didn’t even whine much today so I hope you enjoyed the new structure. Leave me a comment with some pros and cons about the blog structure this week. I’d love some feedback!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I LOVE IT. I LOVE YOU.

    I can’t wait until we’re all in one place together again. We’re going to have so much fun! You’ve gone fatass to badass and have a cameltoe…I may not recognize you!

    (kidding, just kidding) xoxoxo

  2. James says:

    I don’t even want to know about the cameltoe. You’re ready for an epic this weekend. We will doo eet!

  3. Marrisa says:

    What I wanna know is, when can I join you guys on these 16+ mile treks??!! Love new blog Pat!

Leave a Comment

