The Road 10/12/11: Five Miles and a Shower.

Posted: October 12, 2011 in Athletic Events, Blog Posts, Fitness, Friends, Frustrations, The Road

This past Sunday I went on a 5-mike walk with James. We had originally planned to take a 40-mile bike ride but it’s been raining quite a bit in Orlando lately so we decided to keep our feet planted on the ground.

James and I walked around Crane’s Roost lake. I was decked out in full gear with a drybag for my iPhone and a Camel Bak filled with water. If I’d only known that we would have NO shortage of water that day…

We got about a 1/4 mile and it started to pour.
20111010-170515.jpg

I’m not talking about some light drizzle. We were completely soaked in a matter of moments but we continued to press on with a smile.
20111010-170550.jpg

In an effort to start preparing for the Walt Disney 1/2 Marathon, we started adding some jogging intervals. I haven’t jogged since dropping below 300 pounds and noticed the difference right away. My legs are stronger from all the biking and squats. Since my weight is lighter, I felt like I had a better bounce and speed. Maintaining the speed for more than 13 miles will be the real issue.

Going back to our walk/jog. About half way in and I looked down to see that my legs were covered in soap suds. It was all over my shorts and legs. I guess my washing machine could use a tune-up for the rinse cycle.
20111010-170542.jpg

It was a fun day in the end. We managed over 5.2 miles and I know where I need work before January.

I wound up very tired and sore but still laughing from all the soap suds still coming out of my shorts.
20111010-170530.jpg

Stay with me for the next few months and let’s see if I can complete this half marathon without getting picked up by the sag wagon!

Comments
  1. James says:

    Heck of a way to train for a half-marathon, but if there’s an underwater running portion, you and I will be ready!

Leave a Comment

