The Missing Link: 10/13/11

Posted: October 13, 2011 in The Missing Link

Here are some more interesting things I found on the interwebs this week. Primal parenting, coffee, crockpots, CW shows on TV. Oh…and more random comedy from Ben Davis.


Mark’s Daily Apple

  • How to Go Primal: For Parents

    Whether we’re parents or not, we all identify on some level with the problematic influence other people can have on our lifestyle choices.


Primal Toad

  • Kid’s Don’t Deserve McDonald’s

    Kids deserve better. This one hits home for me since I’ve got a 4-year old that wants to stop to eat there just for playground time or a toy. If you click no other links today, please click this one!

  • Is Coffee Healthy? Do You Drink Coffee?

    How badly do you want to feel energized without it? How badly would you like to take that extra $1 or so per day to save for a nice piece of grass-fed steak once or twice a week?


Food Finds

  • October is Crock Pot Month!

    Take a trip over to WellnessMama.com where she’s sharing crockpot recipes for the whole month of October. I’ve tried the Spiced Pumpkin Latte and will be doing my review in an upcoming From the Kitchen. I also can’t wait to try the Healthy Crockpot Meatloaf

  • Grilled Bananas

    If you are searching for an easy and tasty dessert; look no further! EverydayPaleo.com has a quick, easy recipe for a charred, fruity dessert that tastes incredible! Try this one for the kids!


Yahoo! Health

  • What’s Really in Your Food?

    This link comes from my Primal friend, Marrisa. As she put it: GROSS!!!! Food used to be so simple. A 1950s ice cream sundae contained about eight or nine different ingredients. Today, you can walk into any Baskin-Robbins in the country and order a sundae with 50 or more additives, most of them junk-food fillers that you would never stock in your pantry at home—unless of course you cook with polysorbate 80 and hydrogenated coconut oil.


Ben Does Life


TV Time

  • Hart of Dixie

    My long-time friend, Scott Porter, is in a new TV show on The CW. I’ve watched the first two episodes on the CW Network Website since I don’t have cable. If you have cable, give it a look on Monday nights at 9/8c. If you don’t have cable, get it from iTunes on Tuesdays (Thanks, Steve!). This week’s episode is about a Gumbo cookoff and was directed by Andrew McCarthy. I support my friend Scott as much as I can…even when he’s flat on the tag of old doo-wop songs.


That’s it for this week. Do you have any links to contribute to future posts? Drop me an email at theroad2wd@gmail.com with your link ideas. Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I need more recipes. I lack in the recipe department. 🙂 I’ll keep my eyes peeled for you.

  2. Marrisa says:

    In regards to the coffee thing… I LOVE coffee. I drink it every day because I love it, not because I NEED it. Well, some days maybe I do, but honestly I am capable of going without. I always make it the same way and it never gets old. Newman’s Own Organic Extra Bold blend, with stevia to sweeten, organic half and half, and a dash or two of organic cinnamon. YUM YUM YUM

Leave a Comment

