Fatass to Badass: 10/14/11

Posted: October 14, 2011 in Fatass to Badass

This has been a pretty good week! I realized some things about myself and know that I need some work in certain areas. Here’s a re-cap of my week.

  • Sunday morning I went on a 5-mile walk around Crane’s Roost with James.
  • Monday and Tuesday were really my last two weekdays off with my daughter. I start a new job next Monday after 10 months of being unemployed.
  • Wednesday I eased myself back in to Primal Blueprint body weight lifting but hit a snag. My rib is still causing enough pain to make planks, pushups and pull-ups difficult. That just leaves me with squats. I hope this will go better next week.
  • Thursday was spent in the kitchen drying fruit and portioning out lunches and snacks for my first week of work. I’m determined to stay primal and active even though I’m going back to work. It just takes quite a bit of planning and preparation. Thursday evening Jenn and I met up with friends at Le Rouge Wine Bar and Tapas. Two of my web clients, Matt Festa and Michelle Mailhot were performing at the restaurant. I’ll admit to having two beers but, as far as food goes, we stayed primal with Lamb meatballs, chicken skewers and spicy shrimp.

That brings me to today. I woke, got on my Eat Smart scale and…285.4. That’s a slight gain but nothing to feel bad about. I’ve got to establish my new routine and I’m positive that the weight will continue to fall off.

I’m excited about the new place of employment, new job duties and having social interaction with more than a handful of people each day. I’m a little sad that I won’t get to see that smiling, happy girl running off to her classroom and greeting me after with big hugs. I just hope that I can come home from a long day and greet her with every part of me. I hope I can take her for a walk or a bike ride before sundown on those days. I just don’t want to go back to being that tired, lazy dad that just wants to rest after work. I hope that I can motivate myself to continue my journey without settling for easy meals from boxes or fast food drive-thrus on my way home. To be honest, I don’t really have doubts about it but it has all been crossing my mind. The only reason I had time to change my eating, exercise regularly, tell my story on this blog and have free time to do things with my daughter was because I spent the last 10 months with no job. This will certainly change things for me in a major way but I’m spending the weekend preparing mentally and writing a ToDo list of things I need to accomplish outside of working hours next week. I could really use some motivational comments below.


Posts

In case you missed any of my posts, here’s the weekly list.

Monday: Weekend Review: Cafe 118°
Tuesday: From the Kitchen
Wednesday: The Road
Thursday: The Missing Link
Friday: Weekly Weigh-In


Photos

Here are some quick photos I took this week.

Awww! She called me “honey”

What’s For Dinner?

Don’t Call Me Fruity

What’s This?!


That wraps up this week! I’ve got a busy weekend of scares, food prep, birthdays and balloon animals. I’ve got my Padawan with me too. I’m looking forward to what the weekend has to offer and to starting my new job on Monday. Pleas stop by again next week. Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. licia. says:

    you are doing an AMAZING job! the fact that you DON’T WANT to fall back into your lazy routine will be the biggest difference between working a day job this time, and previously… THIS TIME, you know how bad you felt LAST TIME. i have absolutely no doubt that you will continue down your current path..and inspire us even more, for doing it successfully while holding down the 9 to 5 routine.
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Comment

