From the Kitchen: Pumpkin

Posted: October 25, 2011 in From The Kitchen

Peter Peter Pumpkin Eater


 
It’s October. After that, it’s November. Fall, Halloween and Thanksgiving always bring pumpkin to mind. I’ve got more than one recipe to share with you today. I hope you like pumpkin.

Spiced Pumpkin Latte

20111023-094348.jpg

This first part is a review from a recipe I found on Wellness Mama. It’s an incredibly good idea and a great way to cut the cost of that “BigBucks” pumpkin spice latte. This version is also primal/paleo safe. I love that it only uses five ingredients and can all be made in the crockpot. It smelled amazing when I was making it. The only issue I ran into was that it tasted watered down. I’m trying to figure out if that’s from the steam that gathers on the crockpot lid and keeps dripping back into the latte. It could also be that I just don’t make a very strong pot of coffee. I tried. I used a french press and my sister’s recommendation for a strong pot. Either way, this is a great recipe when you don’t screw it up and water it down. Maybe I’ll try making it on the stove next time.

20111023-094400.jpg

After drinking one cup of my watered down latte, I put the remainder in my ice cream maker and made pumpkin latte ice cream. I added a few walnuts at the end for crunch and texture. This also had potential but my watered down version just didn’t have a lot of flavor. It’s my fault. Not Wellness Mama’s.


Recipes

In addition to the review, I’m giving you two recipes this week. Both of them fall in line with the Pumpkin theme of today’s post.

Pumpkin Spice Creamer

How many of us walk past the coffee-mate creamers at the grocery store and scowl because they had us hooked on their product for years but if you read the label now, you know that the ingredients don’t fall in line with the way we eat.

That really doesn’t help the fact that during this time of year I crave the fall flavored coffee drinks. So, thanks to Wellness Mama’s Pumpkin Spiced Latte recipe, I was inspired. I came up with this recipe:

Primal/Paleo Pumpkin Spice Creamer

Ingredients:

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 6 Tbsp natural pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup natural maple syrup
  • 2 tsp pumpkin spice

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree on high for 40 seconds. Keep refrigerated in an airtight container. Put a few tablespoons in a coffee mug to your taste and fill the mug with warm coffee. Stir and enjoy.
Note: the spice settles to the bottom sometimes. Just stir the creamer well before you put it in your cup.

I made this last week on Sunday and took it to the office to add to my morning cup at my desk. I just left it in the office refrigerator and used a little each day until it was gone. There’s a “BigBucks” coffee across the street from my office. Just knowing that I had this morning treat waiting at the office and one cup didn’t cost me $4 was all I needed to enjoy the fall flavors like everyone waiting in the drive-thru across the street.


Pumpkin Muffins or Cupcakes

20111023-094413.jpg
Muffins or cupcakes? Cupcakes or muffins? The choice is yours! If you want cupcakes, make the icing. If you want muffins, DON’T make the icing! This recipe is from Jenn.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. of almond flour
  • 1/4 c. of coconut flour
  • 1/2 c. sweetener (use maple syrup, honey or agave nectar)
  • 3 eggs*
  • 1/3 c. pure pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • Optional: Crushed walnuts, dried cranberries

Note: For egg whites only, add 3/4 c. egg whites and increase coconut flour to 1/3 c.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375
  2. Place liners in muffin pan
  3. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl with a fork (including cranberries and walnuts if you’re adding them)
  4. Pour a scant 1/4 c. of batter into each liner
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the muffins are springy to touch
  6. Remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack

Yield: 10 Muffins…but…if you want cupcakes then you need…

Faux Cream Cheese Icing

This addition to the muffins is more along the lines of Primal Blueprint which permits dairy as long as you’re not having a reaction to it. Traditional Paleo followers will just want to make the muffins since there’s no dairy consumed.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz of plain or vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 4 tbsp. pure maple syrup (you can add more or less to your taste preference)

Directions:

  1. Place strainer over a bowl or large measuring cup
  2. Line a strainer with paper towels.
  3. Pour in Greek yogurt.
  4. Cover with paper towels.
  5. Place weight on top (can be a can or plastic container filled with water).
  6. Allow to strain in the fridge for 2-4 hours.
  7. Remove strained Greek yogurt and place in a bowl
  8. Stir in maple syrup
  9. Ice cooled muffins

Store uneaten muffins in the fridge to prevent icing from melting.


   

There you have it. My From the Kitchen post on pumpkin. I hope you enjoy these recipes. Leave a comment to let me know what you think once you’ve tried these. If you come up with any good ideas, please share them below!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    I prefer MufCakes.

Leave a Comment

