The Road: 10/26/11: Intermittent Fasting

Posted: October 26, 2011 in The Road

Intermittent Fasting


You heard me earlier this week talking about how I crowded my weekend full of food prep and meal planning. That’s primarily because I’ve been spending the week doing intermittent fasting. There are various options on how to go about intermittent fasting (shown as “IF” for the rest of the post) explained over at Mark’s Daily Apple.

Before you go telling me I’m teetering on the edge of anorexia* or that it’s unhealthy, here’s a little bit of content from Mark’s Daily Apple on the subject:

Fasting is one way to have your cake and eat it too. Beyond the already proven benefits of a Primal Blueprint low-carb lifestyle, fasting once in a while seems to offer many of the same benefits of calorie restriction – you know, stuff like increased longevity, neuroprotection, increased insulin sensitivity, stronger resistance to stress, some cool effects on endogenous hormone production, increased mental clarity, plus more – but without the active, agonizing restriction. You just eat Primally, focusing on meat and vegetables with plenty of animal fat, and skip meals on occasion. A sixteen-hour fast is on the low-but-still-effective end (you could easily maintain a daily sixteen hour IF regimen, giving you an eight hour eating window, a la Leangains), or you could opt for longer, more intermittent fasts – say, a full twenty-four hours once or twice a week.

I’ve decided to go with the Condensed Eating Window option. I’ve done this once before and experienced great health benefits and weight loss. The Condensed Eating Window option allows for you to consume your entire daily food intake within a smaller window of hours. I am planning to do this each day between 12:00 and 2:00 p.m. As I did earlier this year, I’ll be consuming half of my normal caloric intake(1990 cals) in a single sitting. I’m looking at eating around 995 calories over the course of two hours and then sticking to water only until the next window rolls around. I’ll continue this pattern through Sunday, 10/30/11 and resume normal eating on Halloween.

Have you ever done any form of fasting? What are your thoughts on intermittent fasting?

Comments
  1. Marrisa says:

    I’d like to try it. I don’t know if I could do it though. Half of my caloric intake is 650 calories which I could do very easily in one sitting but I’d be so hungry waiting 12 or more hours to eat again. I’d have to chew a lot of gum. LOL. Anyway I probably should discipline myself to do it. Since the challenge ended I’ve fallen off the wagon more than once and I’m frustrated with myself. I’ve emotionally eaten things that I normally wouldn’t. This is a very weird week for me. Anyway sorry for my vent. Good luck with the fasting, can’t wait to hear how it worked for you!

Leave a Comment

