From the Kitchen: Blue Cheese Stuffed Dates Wrapped in Bacon

Posted: November 1, 2011 in From The Kitchen

Blue Cheese Stuffed Dates Wrapped in Bacon

20111026-212823.jpg

I think I’ve rubbed this recipe in your faces long enough. This is my own but I’m sure I’m not the first to think of it. It makes a quick primal snack that tastes really great! I also want to let you know that I’d love to share any primal/paleo recipes you may have so be sure to email me at Fatass2Badass@me.com if you’d like to do a guest post on From the Kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • 10 pitted dates
  • 5 strips of Applegate Farms bacon
  • 1 oz. of dry blue cheese

Note: You can obviously adjust these ingredients for parties. When I say dry cheese, I’m talking about the kind of blue cheese that is stiff and not moist like the crumbles you find in the store. I get mine at the Winter Park Dairy and I’m able to slice it, weigh it and cut each slice into narrow pegs that will fit into the cavity of the date where they pushed the pit out. The cheese will need to hold up to a little pressure when stuffing. If you can’t find cheese like that or if you have lactose issues, leave it out of the recipe.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat Oven to 400°
  2. Slice cheese and cut into pegs
    20111026-212816.jpg
  3. Stuff cheese pegs into dates
    20111026-212829.jpg

    20111026-212809.jpg

  4. Slice bacon strips in half
    20111026-212759.jpg
  5. Roll up each stuffed date in a half strip of bacon
  6. Place on a sheet tray with the seam side down.
  7. Bake for 20-30 minutes until bacon is cooked but not crispy
  8. Put on a serving plate and allow to cool for 5-10 minutes

That’s it. I suggest serving them warm but do not, I repeat…DO NOT eat one right out of the oven. It will burn your tongue off and possibly burn holes in your cheeks and larynx. I seriously think your face could melt off like the Nazi guy in Raiders of the Lost Ark.

20111026-123736.jpg

Marion, don't look at it. Shut your eyes, Marion. Don't look at it, no matter what happens!

So don’t do it. Wait patiently for the salty, sweet, bubbly, creamy goodness that is a bacon wrapped date. A salty, sweet, bubbly, creamy, melting face is NOT goodness. It’s bad. Trust me. I’ve been there.

I hope you love these. They’re simple, yummy and you can store the leftovers(ha ha ha! What leftovers?!) in the refrigerator and save them to pop in your mouth for a quick snack. They’re just as good cold as they are warm. Enjoy and send me your recipes!

Comments
  1. Suzie says:

    Sweet Jesus that looks amazing… *steals recipe*

Leave a Comment

