The Road: 11/2/11: Halloween…The Aftermath!

Posted: November 2, 2011 in The Road

Halloween. Samhain. All Hallows Eve. This day marks the end of the harvest. The end of the “lighter half” of the year and the start of the “darker half”. There are some scary things associated with this holiday. Ghosts, Goblins, Witches, Vampires, Psycho Killers, Zombies, women finding an excuse to wear provocative costumes…all of it can be frightening.

Want to know what scares a 36 year old primal/paleo father?
20111101-194948.jpg

This image represents 3/4 of my daughter’s take. I sent the other 1/4 home with my ex-wife. After this picture was taken, I removed all the garbage candy…then I thought ‘it’s all garbage…even the good stuff isn’t up to primal/paleo standards’. But I have to think about what kind of father I want to be. Do I want to be the boring dad who doesn’t let her enjoy growing up? Not really. I want to be the dad that can send 1/3 of the remaining candy to my sister’s office, take 1/3 to my office and keep some select pieces in the house for my little one to enjoy.

I made a small bag for her with about 30 pieces of candy she can enjoy one at a time. She had such a fun time in her Batgirl costume and was so excited to be out with her friends. I’ll just let her know that she can only splurge with this much candy at this one time of year and be careful to only let her have one or two pieces per day until it’s gone.

I like what’s suggested at http://paleoplan.com:

1. Halloween Buy Back. Offer cash in exchange for candy. This would be great except mine isn’t at an age where she understands the value of money. She thinks “paying” means to throw the groceries on the moving belt by the cash register.

2. Let them chow down on a few pieces at a time.

3. Donate it.

So, before I found the link to this list, I had already planned to use 2 and 3. This allows my daughter to have a little Halloween fun. She enjoys a primal lifestyle the rest of the time we’re together.

What do you do with the candy your kids get this time of year?

Leave a Comment

