From the Kitchen: Primal Sausage-stuffed Zucchini Boats

Posted: November 8, 2011 in From The Kitchen

Simple. Tasty. That. Is. All.

20111105-181819.jpg

My sister and brother-in-law made these a few months back and were nice enough to let me try a bite. Friday night I had picked up some XX-Hot Sausage from Cavallari Gourmet. Saturday at the Winter Park Farmer’s Market I found the most incredibly, GINORMOUS zucchini! This is no exaggeration. These things are as long as my arm is from my elbow to my wrist!

Since I had all of these ingredients on hand, I decided to attempt my own primal sausage-stuffed zucchini boat over the weekend. Here’s the recipe for you to try.

20111105-181713.jpg
Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 GIANT zucchini or 3 smaller ones
  • 1 medium vidalia onion, diced
  • 5 large white mushrooms
  • 1 pound of hot Italian sausage, casing removed
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced or finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided in 1/4 cups
  • 1 large egg
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  1. Cut zucchini in half and scoop out the pulp from the centers to create hollow boats. Reserve the pulp to saute later.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat.
  3. Add sausage to one side of the pan and put onions and mushrooms on the other. Break the sausage apart and stir until browned and crumbled.
    20111105-181722.jpg
  4. Stir onions and mushrooms. Add garlic and zucchini pulp. Allow to saute two more minutes and then stir all ingredients together in the pan.
    20111105-181729.jpg
  5. Remove pan from heat and add sausage/veggie mixture to a mixing bowl. Allow to cool 5 minutes.
  6. Add 1/4 cup grated cheese and egg to the sausage/veggie mixture and mix well.
    20111105-181745.jpg
  7. Place zucchini boats on a foil-lined cookie sheet.
    20111105-181756.jpg
  8. Spoon sausage/veggie mixture into each zucchini boat evenly.
    20111105-181810.jpg
  9. Place cookie sheet in oven and bake for 45 minutes.
  10. Remove cookie sheet and sprinkle remaining grated cheese over the tops.
  11. Return the cookie sheet to the oven and bake for 10 more minutes
  12. Remove and serve warm

20111105-181835.jpg

These are so awesome! I love the combination of spicy sausage with Italian cheese and veggies. That sausage from Cavallari Gourmet was so spicy that I give this recipe 25 hiccups. If you can find giant zucchini like the ones I had, two of them will serve 12 people. We cut one boat in thirds and shared it for lunch. Everyone was pleasantly full but not stuffed. Since we shared half of the zucchini, I took the other half and sliced it in thirds, packed it in containers and froze it for lunches this week at the office. If you need some quick, healthy lunches during the week then make this on the weekend and divide it up so you’re not eating crappy lunch options that aren’t as good for you.

If you get a chance to make these or come up with tasty variations, please share your story in the comments below. Enjoy and send me your primal/paleo recipes to share!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    The BEST part of this whole thing is when you get to the end, and you see the post that says “Don’t Freeze the Zucchini!” LOL Looks awesome, although I think zucchini is the most disgusting veggie on the planet.

    I think we should investigate all the ways to use avocado. 😉

  2. Kenneth Holliday says:

    I tried this with 4 regular sized zucchini. I add diced red pepper but forgot the mushrooms. I had waaaay too much meat mixture. Like I filled the boats all the way up and still had like half the mixture left over. Maybe I shouldn’t have used all of the zucchini pulp? Just some of it? Regardless it was absolutely delicious and I’m thinking about using the left over meat/veggie mixture to stuff some bell peppers.

    • Pasquale says:

      Glad you liked the recipe, Kenneth! That extra filling can be divided into 1/4 cups or 1/2 cups and would be pretty good as an omelet filling too.

      My giant zucchini kinda screwed up the amount needed for regular zucchini. I’m thinking I’ll need to go back and redo this one before it goes into the cookbook.

      How did you hear about the blog?

      • Kenneth Holliday says:

        I actually met you awhile back at the Do Life 5K event in Orlando, FL. I live in Jacksonville, FL. Well, meet is probably not the right word as we didn’t talk much (if at all). But I remembered your determination during the 5K. And later discovered you had a blog. I’ve been following since that time I’m just bad about commenting.

      • Pasquale says:

        Oh wow! That day was a huge turning point and I was so overwhelmed with Ben’s gift and being exhausted and meeting people. I was also live blogging from my iPhone the whole time and I’m not very social in person to begin with.

        Glad to know you now and thanks for following my story.

        I’m looking forward to seeing more comments from you.

Leave a Comment

