Weekend Review: The Musical

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Weekend Review

This post needs to be brief. I’m thumbing it.
(note: thumbing it means I’m typing it on my iPhone)

I’m a musician like my father before me. Last week I had an epiphany. I started wondering what tempo I had to walk in order to get to a 16-minute mile.

I downloaded a metronome app for my iPhone and Saturday I walked a 5k at 125 beats per minute. That got me under a 20-minute mile and I was very excited.

Sunday I turned the tempo up to 132 beats per minute and I got under a 17-minute mile. This is all walking with no jogging.

I’m finally hopeful about finishing the half marathon!!! Once I keep a consistent stride with a consistent tempo and some jogging mixed in, I’m going to kick some Disney Half-Marathon ass on January 7th!!! With James by my side, we will cross that finish line victorious and I’ll have a medal hanging from my neck.

Sunday I took a drive out to Tampa for the first caroling gig of the winter season. I sang with the Mistletones for the arrival of Santa at the mall. Here’s a picture of me from my past years of caroling.

20111113-210725.jpg

Here’s a picture of me at the mall last night. Quite a difference!

20111113-210303.jpg

We even recorded a little early Christmas wish for you since we had to wear winter fleece and scarves in a warm mall.

Check in tomorrow for From the Kitchen! I worked on a new primal recipe inspired by my friends, Heather, Sebastian and Molly MacPherson.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Molly will be so happy! 😉

    Love you! You look fantastic…I can’t wait to hug your neck! SOON!

  2. Kenneth Holliday says:

    I kind of did this myself back when I was doing Couch to 5K. (Which I plan on re-starting very soon. Maybe this week.) I didn’t really map out the tempo or anything because I’m no musician but I did try to find songs around the same bpm to keep me motivated. Anything around 180 seems to keep me going well. Congratz on the sub17. Keep going.

Leave a Comment

