From the Kitchen: Primal Scotch Eggs

Posted: November 15, 2011 in From The Kitchen

Och, Laddie!

20111113-192402.jpg

A few years back I had a chance to go up to Savannah to visit with some Orlando friends that moved up there. While there, they took me to Molly Macpherson’s. It’s a great little Scottish pub in the historic section of town. I saw a scotch egg in the appetizer section of the menu and had no idea what it was. My friend, Heather, couldn’t believe I’d never tried one and proceeded to explain what it was.

A scotch egg is a hard boiled egg wrapped in sausage. It’s breaded and fried and then sliced in half and served with a quality mustard. I enjoyed several of them that weekend.

20111113-192319.jpg

Since going primal, I haven’t had one again. A few weeks ago it occurred to me that I could make one now that I had a recipe for primal breadcrumbs. I didn’t want to deep fry it so I went for a baked option. I really wasn’t sure how much I’d have to tweak this recipe to make it work but I’m happy to report I nailed it on the first try!

20111113-192334.jpg

I got some quality sausage from a local butcher with no preservatives or nitrates. It held up well on the eggs and baking them made the outer crust nice and crispy. Using a sharp knife, I sliced them and served them with homemade mustard.

20111113-192349.jpg

So incredibly good and I’ve got a healthier version to make when welcoming my friends, Heather and Sebastian, back to Orlando when they move back soon! They also have two amazing kids that are in to Star Wars like my little one is so I can’t wait to welcome them home and celebrate over scotch eggs and pisco sours! That last part may not be primal…

20111113-192413.jpg

Look for this in the 2012 primal recipe book I’m writing.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    They’re coming home sooner than you’d believe! PISCO!!!! šŸ˜‰ xoxo

  2. James says:

    Great idea! I’ll take mine with no egg, just scotch!

Leave a Comment

