Weekend Review: Christmas Before Thanksgiving, A Long Walk and Snootsgiving

Posted: November 21, 2011 in Weekend Review

This weekend contained a wide variety of fun and exercise. It went a little something like this…

Friday

Is anyone else finding it odd that the megastores completely skipped over Thanksgiving this year? I mean, sure there are turkeys available to buy but the Christmas displays were up everywhere before I blew the candle my jack-o-lantern candle out on Halloween night. It’s just weird to see it all so early and that’s not an exaggeration. I literally saw Christmas displays in the local Walmart and Publix before Halloween was here.

So, Christmas came early at Ivanhoe Village in Orlando. Antique stores and restaurants were open late and I went over to check it out and hear some of the other carolers that sing in the same entertainment company as me.
20111120-171217.jpg

I think the intentions were good trying to get everyone in the holiday spirit early but It was only November 18th! I’m a guy that has started to sing Christmas music in October every year for the last 18 years. It’s part of what’s required for me to practice and get ready to spread a little cheer to the Orlando area in December but even this Jingle Eve at Ivnahoe Village was a little early for me. It also felt very weird to be watching the carolers instead of singing with them. I turned in early Friday night to get adequate rest for Saturday morning.

Saturday

You know I’ve been training for the 2012 Disney Half Marathon and I decided I needed to “Go the Distance“. This meant waking up early and trying to go as far as my feet would take me. I set a goal for 11 miles. I didn’t have a time limit set but I needed to see how long it would take me to go that far.

I set out on foot from Oviedo at 7:15 a.m. I walked one minute and then jogged one minute. I repeated that pattern for the first two miles and was feeling the burn pretty bad. Matt was with me and he suggested trying three repeats of the one and one interval followed by three minutes walking to recover. That worked pretty well for a while and got me all the way to where cross-Seminole trail connects with Cady Way trail. From that point, we had a few more one and one repeats followed by three minutes of recovery. I had to walk the distance from Goldenrod to the other side of the bridge that crosses Semoran blvd. After passing Semoran was when I started having trouble keeping my walking pace up at 132 steps per minute.

I kept myself hydrated and ate a Larabar along the way but the soreness started to set in. My feet were fine through miles 5, 6 and 7 but my calves were doing all they could to get me to quit. Having Matt there was a big help in keeping me pressing forward to the end. Mile 8 was where the toes of my right foot started to get angry. They were making every step difficult(and are still hurting me as I type this at 3:55 p.m. on 11/20). Mile 9 was where I got my second wind. I just looked over at Matt and said “let’s try jogging some more”. I needed to change the motion of my leg muscles to alleviate some of the pain. That worked well for about 3/4 of a mile and we did some more intervals. It was about that time that I updated my Twitter and Facebook status to say:

As it turned out, determination was quickly losing to the pain.

Mile 10 felt like it took me an hour to get through. Mile 11 wasn’t much better but, in the end, I got there!

20111120-171225.jpg

Here’s what I know from this experience. It took me 3 hours and 30 minutes to go 11.25 miles on foot. Disney requires me to go 13.1 miles in LESS than 3 hours and 30 minutes. I have got to power through the first five miles as quick and strong as I’m able. Once I get to that point, I can go to longer intervals and still stand a chance of making it to the finish line without being picked up by the sag wagon. I’m very happy I was able to make it the full 11.25 miles on Saturday but I’ve still got work to do and another month to get it done.

Snootsgiving
20111120-171243.jpg

Saturday night, I had a chance to hang out at Oblivion Taproom. I went for a meetup with A Mediocre Time with Tom and Dan Podcast. Since I burned 1957 calories on my walk/jog, I used the 80/20 rule from Primal Blueprint and had a burger and some good beer. I said hello to Tom and Dan, got my picture with a Lamborghini, heard the spicy harp player, met a Tom and Dan listener who actually reads my blog and I also got my picture with Ben Franklin!
20111120-171318.jpg
20111120-171250.jpg

I don’t encourage you to go off Primal Blueprint but if you decide to use the 80/20 rule, I think Oblivion Taproom is the right place to do it.
20111120-171344.jpg
Great food, great beer and a unique environment. They painted the stalls in the bathrooms with chalkboard paint so I did a little self-promoting.
20111120-171359.jpg

Sunday

Sunday was spent at home making food for the work week, blogging and getting ready for my daughter to arrive. Dad came over and I made some primal scotch eggs to snack on.
20111120-175051.jpg
All in all, it was a nice weekend. I’ve got a busy week ahead of me with work, training and Thanksgiving. Come back tomorrow for a great guest post on Tuesday about Watermelon.

Comments
  1. Marrisa says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend. That taproom looks cool.

Leave a Comment

