Weekend Review: Getting Better, Top 100 Athletic Blogs

Posted: December 5, 2011 in Weekend Review

Another busy weekend. I sang Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I had a chance to jog twice and had a HUGE breakthrough.

Saturday I woke up and said “I’m going out to run/walk 1 mile in under 16 minutes”. You know what? I did. I set the metronome to 130 beats per minute and walked that pace for 1/4 mile. Then I jogged 1/4 mile. Then I walked 1/4 and jogged 1/4. I did it in 15 minutes and 48 seconds.

Sunday I woke up and said “Today I’m going to do two miles and each will be under 16 minutes again”! Guess what?! I managed to meet my goals again using the same pattern. I’m very excited. This weekend is the first time I got under a 16 minute mile! I added a mile and maintained pace.

Tuesday I’m planning to do three miles at this pace too. If all goes well, I’ll be doing four on Thursday and Five next Saturday. If I can pull it off, my final weeks before the half marathon should only result in faster speeds and better endurance to complete the 13.1 miles I’m hoping to do.

Top 100 Athletic Blogs

You may notice that Top 100 link in the sidebar today. Last week I was pretty frustrated and about to put the blog on hiatus until January. The same day I made the decision, I found out I was selected as one of the top 100 athletic blogs on the web due to excellence in content. Here is what I was told:

For the first time, Compressionstocking.co has spent weeks reading, analyzing, and creating a list of the Top 100 athletic sites on the internet. The sites were chosen based on content, advice, and overall reporting in the athletic blogosphere. Our team has studied your blog and we believe that you are of the best 100 of the thousands that we critiqued.

By Friday morning, I received another email stating I made the cut for the top 75 athletic blogs. This week they’ll narrow it down to 50. Next week 25 and finally the top ten blogs will receive some free stuff from the compression sock company. I’m excited to see how far I’ll make it but also happy to be in the top 100 out of thousands that were reviewed.

Stay with me! I’m on a positive streak!

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    You are doing well! See?!?! Keep going Pat… We have your back! Xo

  2. James says:

    This is because, you are awesome! The more you realize this, the more amazing things you will find yourself able to do!

Leave a Comment

