From The Kitchen: Sofrito

Posted: December 6, 2011 in From The Kitchen

One of the cool things about starting a new job is meeting new people. While I was unemployed for 10 months I only interacted with a small group of family and friends and it wasn’t daily. In an office setting, you have social interaction on a daily basis and it’s nice. What I’ve found is a handful of nice people. Some have similar interests like Sci-Fi/Fantasy or Walking Dead on AMC. Others enjoy cooking and have recipes to share

This week I’m bringing you a very simple, flavorful recipe from my co-worker, Lymari. Lymari and I were talking in the break area one afternoon and I was telling her about Primal Blueprint. She mentioned things she cooks that fit that description and one of them is Sofrito.

Until now, I had only heard it mentioned but never knew what it was. It is described as a combination of aromatic ingredients which have been cut in very small pieces. In Cuban cuisine, sofrito is prepared in a similar fashion, but the main components are onions, garlic, and green bell peppers. It is a base for beans, stews, rices, and other dishes, including ropa vieja and picadillo.

Lymari mentioned it’s commonly used as an additive to recipes but not as a condiment. I’ve already broken this rule. This version of Sofrito is similar to the trinity(celery, carrots, onions) in how it’s used as a base for many dishes or soups/stews. Here is the recipe for the Sofrito alone and it can’t be easier!

  • 3-4 Green bell peppers
  • 1-2 red bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves(should have more garlic than onion)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro or culantro

Instructions

  1. Chop all20111203-155907.jpg
  2. Purée in food processor20111203-155915.jpg
  3. Pour into ice cube trays and freeze20111203-155923.jpg
  4. Use as needed

Now that you know how to make the Sofrito, here are a few recipes you can use it for.

So-So Burgers

20111205-062928.jpg

I posted this picture over the weekend and promised to share the recipe today. There really isn’t anything to it. Grill up some burgers, plate them and spread a tablespoon of Sofrito over the top of each burger. Sprinkle on a little chipotle Tabasco to your preferred amount of heat and eat. SO easy and SO flavorful. When you immediately put the Sofrito on the hot burger, it steams slightly and the aromatic smell wafts through the room. They really do taste great. This is a non-traditional recipe. I couldn’t wait to use the Sofrito on Saturday so I used it with what I had in the house and it wound up tasting really good.

Sofrito Chicken

20111205-200232.jpg

I asked Lymari for a simple meat dish using the Sofrito and she recommended thawing a few cubes of Sofrito. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Rub both sides of the chicken with the Sofrito. Heat olive oil in a skillet and sear breasts for four minutes on each side. Put skillet in 350 degree oven and finish for 15 minutes.

I made this for dinner last night for me, my father and my daughter. I served it over sautéed zucchini and onions and everyone enjoyed it. My four year old even cleaned her plate.

I hope you enjoy this recipe! Please send me your recipe ideas if you’d like to do a guest post. Email me at Fatass2Badass@me.com

Comments
  1. JMar says:

    Puerto Ricans LOVE sofrito also. I remember my mom making this as a kid but am always afraid to make it in fear of it never coming out like hers or my grandma. They freeze it too. Thanks for sharing. The recipes look great!

  2. Heather says:

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmm but is it as good as Sebi’s Chilean salsa?

Leave a Comment

