From the Kitchen: Bacon-Wrapped Blue Cheese Burgers

Posted: December 20, 2011 in From The Kitchen

If you’re one who doesn’t appreciate a good burger, I’d be interested in seeing if you’ve got a soul. I spent a little time in the kitchen making a fantastic burger. It’s simple to prep and cooks up hotter and juicier than those burgers from the red-headed child.

First I’ll tell you what inspired me. There’s a place around the corner from me called Cavallari Gourmet and their meat section is always stocked full of gourmet burgers of all kinds. When my father told me he found our old Tupperware burger press, I decided I wanted to make some gourmet burgers of my own. If you’ve got a decent burger press these are fairly simple. I’m not sure how you’d really get the bacon to adhere to the edges without one. The maintain idea is to inspire you to create your own blends of gourmet burgers.

I started out with these ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground beef (I used 80/20)
  • Crumbled blue cheese
  • Applegate Farms Sunday Bacon
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

I made mine like this.

  1. I mixed everything but the bacon into the meat.
  2. Once it was mixed well, I weighed 5 oz portions and rolled the meat into balls.
  3. I wrapped each meatball in bacon
    20111203-155954.jpg
  4. I put a small sheet of plastic wrap inside the press first then dropped them one at a time into the burger press.
    20111203-160004.jpg
  5. Press with a good deal of pressure to make sure the bacon adheres to the meat.
    20111203-160015.jpg
  6. The plastic wrap keeps the meat from sticking to the press, allows for easy removal and you can wrap them up quick!
    20111203-160042.jpg

That’s really all there was to it. I stored them in a freezer bag and just took one out in the morning to thaw them in time for dinner after work.

To cook, I pre-heated my oven to 400 and put a cast iron skillet over medium heat.

Do you have a good burger recipe to share? Leave a comment with your favorite recipe below or email me at Fatass2Badass@me.com

Comments
  1. JMar says:

    These look delicious! 😀

Leave a Comment

