The Road: 12/21/11: 2012 Disney Half Marathon Update or The Carousel of Progress

Posted: December 21, 2011 in The Road


20111221-073419.jpgDisclaimer: I will not take responsibility for any song that gets stuck in your head. Whether you prefer to sing “now is the time, now is the best time…” or “it’s a great, big, beautiful tomorrow…” is up to you. But, as Lando Calrissian would say, “it’s not my fault”!

At Disney, back in Tommorowland there’s a ride that time forgot. It’s the Carousel of Progress. You sit in a theater that rotates through different sets. Each set covers a time period from the turn of the century(1900s) and progresses forward through time to an ending in a possible future. With each turn, technology updates. Things get easier and more efficient. It’s closely related to the way I feel this morning.

I’ve gone B to the W here, people! I’ve been waking up at 4:30 a.m. to get in a one hour jog before work. In addition to that, I’m taking thirty minute, slow and deliberate walks on my lunch hour each day to relieve some of the muscle soreness. I’m also taking the steps up three flights every morning and again after lunch to strengthen my leg muscles.

Now Is The Time

One song title continues to say that now is the best time and things just simply couldn’t be easier because of the progress we’ve made. Part of me feels this way but I think I really feel like things certainly aren’t as difficult as they used to be. Do I want to keep living in this current moment? Not a chance. I want to see what’s around the next turn when…

It’s A Great, Big, Beautiful Tomorrow

This song says it exactly how I feel now. I’ve come a long way but this is not the end result. Tomorrow will be better and the more I invest in my future, the better things will be.

When I typed most of this on Tuesday, I felt pretty amazing. A little sore but happy and content in what I’ve done so far and what’s ahead for me. Now is the time but it’s a great, big, beautiful tomorrow.

…okay, I lied. Try getting through the day without singing one of these today!

It’s your own fault if you watch them. You were warned.

Leave a Comment

