Weekend Review: A New Year. A Newer-Er Me.

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Weekend Review

This is such a busy week coming up but I promised myself I’d only take one week off from blogging during the holiday and am committed to bringing you content despite the half marathon coming up on Saturday.

Over the weekend, I committed to doing a program called The Whole 30 2012. It can be found here at Whole9life.com. I’ve been basically following this lifestyle in The Primal Blueprint but there came moments when I found out there were ways to paleofy desserts so we were making healthier cupcakes and mousses with nut flours and coconut milk. Truth be told, I was looking for an excuse to not fully lose my old way of living and I believe it’s when I started paleofying desserts and breads that I hit the plateaus in 2011. This is a 30 day challenge to get me back to a more simplistic approach toward paleo/primal living. The major difference for me is outlined on the website as follows:

In addition, no Paleo-ifying dessert or junk food choices! We call this “Sex With Your Pants On” (SWYPO), and it will ruin your Whole30 faster than you can say, “Paleo pizza.” Do not try to shove your old, unhealthy diet into a shiny new Whole30 mold. This means no “Paleo-fying” desserts or junk food – no Paleo pancakes, pizza, brownies or ice cream. Trying to replicate junk food with “technically approved” ingredients misses the point of the Whole30 entirely.

That pretty much defines where I went wrong from July to December and why I stayed stuck in the 280s. That’s all about to change because…

Saturday

I spent the majority of New Year’s Even in the kitchen prepping for my first week of the whole 30. I made grab n’ go breakfasts, lunches and dinners for five full days of my work week. Here are my meals for the week:

  • Breakfasts: 2 Hard Boiled Eggs and 2 strips of bacon
  • Lunches: 3 oz. burger patty seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and allspice accompanied by one cup of Sauteed Kale with Onions
  • Dinners: 4 oz pan-seared chicken breast accompanied by one cup of Sauteed Kale with Onions
  • Snacks:Fruit, nuts, beef jerky

Yes, I know…I’m on a Kale kick. Don’t hate just because I found the one vegetable that I like. It’s incredibly versatile and I enjoy the texture and health benefits. That’s my menu for the week and I have no problem living like this. I got used to quantity cooking in culinary school and I’m pretty good at weighing and portioning uniform portions for each mealtime serving. So, that’s what I’m doing. Everything is in the freezer and gets thawed as needed to be ready to re-heat for my meals each day. This prevents the need to eat something I will regret when I’m too busy to get to the kitchen and cook a full meal. Sure, Saturday was a busy six hours in the kitchen but now I have an easy week of food preparation ahead of me. It just takes one day out of your week to do this and some decent planning

Sunday

Sunday was…well…you’re looking at it. I typed my full week’s worth of blog posts on Sunday. I also got my snacks portioned out and gallon water bottles filled. Later in the day I took a walk in my Vibrams and then got to spend the afternoon/evening with my daughter deciding what to do together on Monday.

It’s a New Year

People make and break weight loss resolutions within a week of committing to them. If I can offer a bit of advice, it’s this:

  • You’ve spent years getting to the point of being overweight. Don’t believe that you can make it all go away quickly. It will take a long time. It will take a strong mental and physical commitment.
  • Don’t believe that low-carb, low-fat grocery store items are going to fix things for you. These things are highly processed and horrible abuse for your body. Eat full fat within reason, eat natural carbs from veggies and fruits. Choose WHOLE ingredients as unprocessed as possible.
  • Don’t believe in a miracle fat-loss pill, frozen microwave dinners or a point system. Believe in yourself.
  • Brush off the negative influence. Surround yourself with people who love you and will truly motivate you to keep going. Immerse yourself in their presence. I try to interact with James, Matt, Kathy, Geoff, Mom, Dad and the positive postings of Ned Johnson on Facebook each week, if not each day.
  • You will be frustrated. You will hit points of failure. You will sneak ice cream and chocolate when things get sh!tty and depressing. Everyone…and I mean EVERYONE stumbles at something. No one is perfect. When this happens, DON’T QUIT!!! Don’t say “I’ll start again next week”. Start again with your NEXT MEAL! You’ve only screwed up one part of your day. Don’t let that be an excuse to screw up the rest of the week. Monday is not where you find your forgiveness. I learned this piece of advice from my good friend, Erik Winger.
  • Find a new activity. If there’s something out there that you’ve always wanted to do, go try it. Don’t go buying a bike and saying you’re going to bike more in 2012. Go rent or borrow one for a few weeks from a friend who isn’t using theirs and see if you like it. Once you know it’s your forte, invest in one for yourself and do it all the time. For me, 2011 brought me the love of paddleboarding and cycling. After two rentals and the love of a father, I now own my own paddleboard and plan to be on it quite often after the Disney Half Marathon and Warrior Dash.
  • Seek a daily motivation online. It can be this blog, a spiritual devotional, Mark’s Daily Apple or Primal Toad. Find something you can read every day to educate yourself and lift your spirits.

So, make the resolution. More than a stupid commitment that everyone makes at the start of the new year, make a promise to yourself and not January first. You can do this. You WILL do this! Happy New Year to my readers, friends, family and loved ones.

Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Barbara Hochreiter says:

    Fantastic advice! Great blog son. It’s words to live by and I’m so proud you’re doing it.

    Love,

    Mom

Leave a Comment

