The Road: 1/4/2012: Half Marathon Tracking and #GoPatGo

Posted: January 4, 2012 in The Road


The 2012 Walt Disney World Half Marathon

What a view. That’s a view I hope I get to see. Even if I don’t make it to the end, I hope I make it in to the Magic Kingdom and get my chance to jog down Main Street U.S.A. and into Fantasyland where I can turn around and run back out through the front of the castle. Here I am. After the close of this day, there will be two short days left until I put my body and mind through the Disney Half Marathon. I’m excited and scared at the same time. I’m glad I had the day off on Monday. I was able to take a walk with James and then Lisa met us for lunch.

As we ate, we took a few brief moments to discuss the event. I asked questions about what to expect because Lisa and James have both done similar events before with Disney. Lisa offered up some comforting descriptions of what it might be like. This helped me since I’ve been dealing with some fear of the unknown.

The next thing we talked about was our pacing plan. We decided that we would start out with a minute of jogging and two minutes of walking briskly and continue repeating this to stay well ahead of the sag wagon. As we get deep into the miles, our hope is that I’ll have enough energy to go one minute on and one minute off for the last few so I can make it through Epcot and across that finish line. This plan sounds very possible. I guess I’ll know in two days. I just need to make it past 8:30 a.m. EST on Saturday to truly know.

Tracking My Progress Live Online


From 5:30-9:00a.m. on 1/7/2012 you’ll be able to track me online through Runkeeper Live. Facebook and Twitter will both broadcast links to the live event. I’ll be the moving dot. Your browser will automatically refresh and show how far I’ve made it. So, if you can’t be there in person, join me online to see how I do!

Motivating Me Live Online and #GoPatGo

There are three great ways to motivate me on Saturday morning.

  1. Facebook If you’re a personal friend on Facebook, you can send me a motivational message by posting on my wall.
  2. Facebook Fan Page If you haven’t gone to Facebook and liked my fan page, now is your chance by clicking here and then clicking the LIKE button. Once you’ve done that, you can post motivational messages on the wall there.
  3. Twitter | #GoPatGo If you follow @TheRoad2WD on Twitter, you can send a tweet with the hash tag “#GoPatGo. You’d basically do something like this:
    20120103-070015.jpg

  4. Thank You

    I appreciate how much you’ve all stuck with me as I’ve trained to get ready for this. Your unending support and encouragement keeps me going. Two days remain until one of the biggest moments in my life that will test my physical ability. Your social media cheering will greatly motivate me to keep going on Saturday! Stick with me!

Comments
  1. Maria says:

    So excited for you! 🙂

    Maria

Leave a Comment

