From the Kitchen: Scrumptious Slow Cooker Chicken

Posted: January 24, 2012 in From The Kitchen


20120124-054038.jpgI apologize for lack of content today. It’s been a busy weekend with Warrior Dash and I had some important business opportunities come up yesterday so I don’t have a long post to offer. What I do have is a link to another recipe from Everyday Paleo.

After making the pulled pork last week, I searched EverdayPaleo.com for more slow cooker recipes and found this Scrumptious Slow Cooker Chicken. This is another big hit. I’ve made it twice and served it to my father when he comes to watch my daughter while I’m at work. This recipe doesn’t look fancy but it’s full of a variety of flavors

Ever tried parsnips? This recipe calls for them and I’ve never had them before now but I really enjoyed their unique flavor. The rest of it is made up of carrots, celery, whole garlic, chicken, herbs, stock and coconut oil and it tastes amazing!

I love garlic but, for my personal taste, it’s a little heavy for me in this recipe so I think I’ll cut the amount in half next time. I’ve always been a fan of stewed or soup veggies. The carrots and celery come out nice and soft and the parsnips offer a potato-like substitution if you rough chop them into larger chunks.

EverydayPaleo.com is one of my favorite sites for recipes and, like WellnesMama.com, she’s got several paleo slow cooker options that allow for convenient cooking! Check out the site for great tips and recipes!

Give this recipe a try and share your thoughts below. I’m also looking for more great recipes to share. If you have a standard recipe that you’d like to see converted to paleo/primal, send it my way and I’ll see what I can do!

What’s your favorite slow cooker recipe?

Leave a Comment

