From the Kitchen: Martha’s Roasted Cabbage Wedges

Posted: January 31, 2012 in From The Kitchen


20120129-214132.jpg
My friend Marrisa pointed out this recipe to me last week. I took the time to make it on Sunday. My father and I gave it a try alongside Everyday Paleo’s Beyond Easy Pulled Pork. I’ve never been a fan of cabbage. I like it in the form of sauerkraut. I also enjoy taking whole, raw leaves and wrapping them around pulled pork to make primal wraps. I’ve never liked red cabbage or soups that have cabbage in them. Even in the past when eating fish tacos, I’ve substituted shredded lettuce instead of the traditional shredded cabbage that the recipe calls for. I was surprised that I actually enjoyed the texture and taste of this version.

The rest of the post comes from Marrisa


20120129-173839.jpg
When I made the pulled pork that you posted about last week, I wanted the perfect primal side dish to accompany it. Always searching for the easy way out, I came across a roasted cabbage recipe from Martha Stewart. When I read the recipe, it seemed like all you needed to do was chop, season, and roast. And that really is all I had to do! My oven cooked the cabbage in about 35 minutes. The edges got a nice shade of brown. The recipe calls for either fennel seeds or caraway seeds, I used the latter. With this dish you get a nice rich flavor of the cabbage that is enhanced by the seeds. It’s mild and not overpowering.

20120129-214454.jpg
My entire family enjoyed this recipe. The kids weren’t ranting and raving but I wouldn’t expect them to actually like cabbage. But I will definitely make it again. Maybe next time I’ll experiment with some spices!

This was literally the easiest side dish I have ever made.
20120129-215324.jpg

The recipe can be found here: Martha Stewart’s Roasted Cabbage Wedges


Thanks for the guest post, Marrisa! If you’d like to do a guest post on a recipe or relevant topic, email me at Fatass2Badass@me.com

Leave a Comment

