From the Kitchen: Portabello Pizza

Posted: February 20, 2012 in From The Kitchen



Good morning! I hope you all had a great weekend! I’m happy to welcome you back to the blog. While the amount of posts will be fewer, I hope to bring you as much valuable content and updates on my story as before.

We start this week of with From the Kitchen moved to Mondays from now on. This guest post comes from my sister, Kathy! Kathy got me started on Primal Blueprint a little over a year ago and I owe a great deal of my life change to her and my brother-in-law, Geoff.

The other night after work, I got this text from Kathy:
20120219-185600.jpg
So I asked her if she’d share her idea with my readers. The following is written by Kathy.


Portobello Pizza

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • 4 portobello mushrooms, stemmed and cleaned
  • 1 pint ricotta cheese
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • Garlic
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Fresh parsley
  • Fresh tomatoes (your choice, we used the large sweet cherry tomatoes)
  • Parmesan cheese

Instructions

Heat skillet on medium. Add olive oil and onions. Cook until onions
are caramelized, add garlic for a few minutes until its cooked and set
onions and garlic aside in a bowl. Place portobello mushrooms in pan
face down, cook about 10 minutes. Flip and cook another 10 minutes to
desired texture. Place mushrooms on a Baking sheet face up. In a bowl,
mix caramelized onions and garlic, ricotta, chopped fresh parsley,
crushed red pepper, salt and pepper to taste. Fill mushrooms with the
mixture. Top with sliced tomatoes and grated Parmesan cheese. Broil
for 5 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.

There are lots of possibilities for variations. Maybe tomato sauce, mozzarella,
pepperoni and basil to make tiny pizzas, etc.


Thanks, Kathy! I know I’m already coming up with variation ideas in my head. Try this recipe and let me know how it turned out in the comments. Did your kids like it? What did you do differently with your version?

Stop by for The Road on Wednesday to hear more about my family and what we all just committed to! Talk to you soon!

Comments
  1. I hear cake pops are delicious smothered in chocolate. (SORRY..couldn’t resist)

    This sounds really good. REALLY Good. I might have a go! 😉

Leave a Comment

