From the Kitchen: Sweet Onion & Blue Cheese Frittata

Posted: March 5, 2012 in From The Kitchen



It has been an interesting week of moving, unpacking and eating on the fly. That means not planning well for my weekly meals. Sadly I ate some more crap again but this week I’m finally getting settled in and my kitchen is shaping up.

I ran/walked a 5k with my father and sister Saturday morning and then spent the rest of the day unpacking boxes.

I spent some time seasoning my cast iron skillet and carbon steel pan. I also dried some blueberries for a snack mix I’ll be talking about next week.

When I woke up Sunday morning, I decided I wanted to start the week off right with a decent primal breakfast for me and my dad. And it goes a little somethin’ like this:

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Large Vidalia Onion
  • 6 Eggs, beaten
  • 1 oz local blue cheese
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat your broiler
  2. Heat olive oil over medium-low heat in a 10-inch skillet.
  3. Add onions and sauté for 8-10 minutes stirring and flipping occasionally.
  4. Add salt and pepper and mix onions a bit more.
  5. Pour eggs into pan over onions. Give a slight shake and allow the egg to set a bit around the edges on the stovetop.
  6. Move entire pan under the broiler and watch for the top of the egg to set.
  7. Place blue cheese in random spots on top of the frittata and place the pan back under the broiler. Once cheese is bubbly and slightly browned, remove, slice and serve.

It looks like this:
20120304-091003.jpg

If you eat half of it, it totals up like this:
20120304-091016.jpg

It’s a great combination of sweet and strong flavors. The peppercorn blue cheese I get from The Winter Park Dairy is amazing in this recipe. If you can find some good, local cheese, I say go for it. If not, look for something in the store with minimal processing and preservatives.

If you plan to make this or have an idea to share, leave a comment. Talk to you soon!

Comments
  1. You could have used a cookie cutter to make heart shapes…

Leave a Comment

