From the Kitchen: Corned Beef and Cabbage

Posted: March 19, 2012 in From The Kitchen



20120318-072403.jpg

St. Patty’s Day has come and gone. Normally I wouldn’t make corned beef and cabbage but dad was coming over to stay the night so we could get to Aquatica early on Sunday. He’s always enjoyed corned beef and cabbage so I decided to make it.

Saturday we were going on a long bike trip with James and his family. James is training for an Ironman. His wife, Lori is training for a smaller triathlon. I’m still deciding what I want to do next. Anyway, it made sense to have this dinner in the slow cooker while we were riding our bikes.

I woke up early and the padawan helped me prep. I quartered potatoes, sliced carrots and onions and she layered everything in the crockpot and helped season it. This was super easy. The corned beef goes on top of the vegetables and it cooks for 8 hours on high. At the seventh hour, you open the crockpot and add in the chopped cabbage to steam during the last hour.

It came out awesome. Dad enjoyed it, the padawan tried everything saying that it tasted similar to ham or a hotdog…whatever works. I’m having a high rate of success getting her to try new things.

I even had leftovers. I portioned out two containers of corned beef and veggies for dad but ran out of beef. I had so many veggies that I portioned five containers for me and added one link of Aidelle’s Andouille sausage to each container and froze them for my lunches.
20120318-073314.jpg

I don’t feel bad about the white potatoes. The Primal Blueprint allows for white potatoes in moderation. If you’re looking for an easy meal that will feed about four people very well, I’d let the crockpot do the work!

Here’s the recipe I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-corned-beef-and-cabbage/

Leave a Comment

