Fatass to Badass | 3/22/13 | Routine

Posted: March 22, 2013 in Fatass to Badass


It’s funny. What I’m about to say is a first in my life.

My life revolves around my gym. I’ve been at the RDV Sportsplex for nearly two weeks now. Tomorrow will be 10 days that I’ve spent being aggressive toward my weight loss and physical health. I’m only taking days of rest on Sunday. This aligns itself with the Primal Blueprint and I intend to keep doing it.

When I say my life revolves around the gym, here’s a breakdown of what I mean.

Each night before I go to sleep, I…

  • Pack my breakfast and lunch into my lunch cooler and put it in the refrigerator
  • Pack my gym bag with my work clothes and toiletries for the next day
  • Put the gym bag in my car
  • Put my workout clothes beside the bed

Each morning when I wake up at 5:00 a.m., I…

  • Put on workout clothes beside the bed
  • Grab the lunch cooler and MacBook Pro
  • Drive to the RDV Sportsplex
  • Work out for one hour
  • Shower and dress at the gym
  • Drive one block away to my office

Each afternoon when I get home, I…

  • Remove the used gym clothes from the gym bag
  • Note: See “each night before I go to sleep, I…”

That’s the routine. Wash, rinse, repeat six days a week. There is one more element to this. Saturdays/Sundays. You call them weekends.

I have now made them into the time when I…

  • Prep all the breakfasts (2 HB eggs, 2 slices bacon)
  • Prep all the lunches (Some form of protein and vegetables, weighed and counted)
  • Fill all my water bottles
  • Wash all my office and gym clothes
  • Iron all of my office shirts
  • Fold the office clothes and arrange them on my dresser (this is probably the biggest task. I line my dresser for five full days of office wear. 1 pair socks, unders, shirt, belt, pants. When I get home from work every day for that packing routine up there, the clothes I’m wearing each day are there folded and ready to just grab and move into the gym bag with my shoes.)

So, it’s not easy but I’ll tell you that I’ve whipped my routine into shape over the last week and a half. That was a big challenge but something I really needed badly. I lost my grip on a disciplined lifestyle but I feel like I’ve got it back and I’m planning on maintaining it to the best of my ability.  It feels like everything else I do (work, social life, rest) revolves around this routine at the gym.

I’ve met with a personal trainer and I’m considering using his services for muscle workouts one day a week. He’ll teach me some things I can do without hurting my back and work with me for an hour. Then I’ll take what I learned and repeat it a second day each week on my own. He’s a really nice guy and related to a close family friend so I trust him to be honest. He’s got a spine injury just like me and that only increases my trust that he’ll be careful not to push me toward injury during this journey.

That’s about it for this week. I’d like to report a weight loss. While it’s not much, it’s still a loss. I’m down another 1.4 pounds this week. I think day 20 will really yield some better results.

Stick with me. Talk to you later!

Comments
  1. Angie Nelson says:

    Good job Pat! Way to go! What a great idea of planning your week and wardrobe….LOVE the dedication!

  2. Heather says:

    I love you Pat. And we are all here cheering for you! You make me want to do better too!

  3. Barbara Hochreiter says:

    As always, I’m really proud of you!

  4. Marrisa says:

    Yay!! Proud of you!

Leave a Comment

